Little monkey couple bento

September 1, 2010

IMG_0976

Today´s bento is built up with food I cooked for dinner. My family like meatballs a lot and the homemade type are the best ones in our opinion :) (plus, I can build up a very good freezer stash )

The Finnish way of making meatballs differs a bit from the usual meatballs recipe. I mean.. at least I use “kermaviili” ( the finnish curd cream. It is something in between crème fraîche and yoghurt ) to moist the breadcrumbs before adding the rest of the ingredients. Trust me, it is very good!

This time I used chicken mince, breadcrumbs, oatmeal and chopped parsley to make the balls ( *shh* don´t tell my girls! ;)

The contents of the boxes: homemade chicken meatballs (monkey head shaped), rice, cooked edamame, corn, cherry tomatoes, cucumber slices, boiled carrots tossed in butter and a container with a little ketchup.

The faces of the little monkeys are made with cheese and details in nori.

Aren´t them cute? ^_^

 

IMG_0980

11 Responses to “Little monkey couple bento”

  1. ChantaleP Says:

    Eeeh Eeh! Ooh Ooh! Eee Aah Aah! Ooh Ooh Ooh! Monkey speak for: That is so darn cute! I want to eat right now! Plus, I’ve gotta try the finnish method of these meat balls too. Yummo!

  2. sheri Says:

    Love the monkey balls! So so cute!!

  3. karaimame Says:

    Chantale, merci!! ;)
    I should consider writing a post about the meatballs. I wonder if it is interesting enough…
    Eh

  4. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Sheri! “super monkey ball”! ;)

  5. Lia Chen Says:

    They are so adorable! Such a nice treat for me to see this in the morning and I’m sure for your kids too :)

  6. Dri Simizo Says:

    (a atrasada) vi só agora seu blog! mto caprichado, lily! =)
    bjs!!

  7. anna c Says:

    It’s si adorable . Yes please share your meatballs recipe! ;)

  8. karaimame Says:

    Lia, your words always encourage me to keep continuing ^_^. Thank you for the comment!

  9. karaimame Says:

    Oi Dri! Que atrasada que nada! Eu que sou a lerda para fazer um blog né? ;)
    Beijinho e obrigada!

  10. karaimame Says:

    As soon as I make them again I will share the recipe ^_^. Thank you for your comment!

  11. Laura Says:

    Cadê a apple pie? Sumiu!


Comments are closed.

