“Bloody Eyed” Mini Baked Cheesecakes for Halloween

October 30, 2012

… and I am back!! (Well, sort of)

Geez.

Yes. My writings on this blog are a bit random. Maybe I can get into the rhythm again? Perhaps not (my moods to blame!). Yea! Someday.

I am weird.

For now, let´s see what brings me here this time ;)

My daughter´s school is having a Halloween party this week and I committed myself to make something for the bake sale. To be sincere, this is our first Halloween party while living in Finland and I had no clue of what people eat there. The only thing I was sure is that there would be tons of cupcakes and tray bakes (bringing more’d be definitely boring!).

I decided for size-wise mini cheesecakes. No fuzz for cutting slices and just perfect to carry easily to the party.

BUT IT IS HALLOWEEN! Hello?

hmm… the decoration! Oh gosh, cupcakes are so much nicer to decorate with spooky touches! After brainstorming (uh, you certainly don’t want to see me doing that. Hubs says I have lightning clouds on top of my head. Every time)  I came to an idea when I thought about the bilberry sauce that goes with the cheesecakes. Hmmm… yummy blood clots (eeeek)… topped with eyeballs. Just enough creepy!

Mini Baked Cheesecakes for Halloween

adapted from a recipe posted already here

Makes 24 individual cheesecakes

For the crust:

  • 300 g Digestive biscuits, finely crumbled
  • 140 g butter, melted (I used HYLA, low lactose)

For the cheese filling:

  • 400 g cream cheese, full fat, softened
  • 200 ml cream (I used HYLA, low lactose)
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
To serve:
  • bilberry jam (I used organic)
For the “eye balls”
  • round shaped white candies. I used sugar coated snowballs Toffee bonbons (toffee pallot / lumipallot)
  • food decorating pens (edible markers): red, blue and green
  • black marzipan
Heat oven to 180°C

Line 24 holes of two muffin pans with muffin cases.

Finely crush the biscuits in a strong freezer plastic bag. Add the melted butter to the biscuit crumbs and “knead” until well combined. Note that you can use the plastic as a mixing vessel (no dirty dishes yet!). Alternatively, use a food processor to crush the biscuits and mix the butter.

Divide the crust mixture evenly among cases pressing firmly down with your finger or the back of a spoon. Set the pans aside while making the filling.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar in an electric mixer until it gets smooth and creamy. Don´t overdo it otherwise you will incorporate too much air into the mixture and it will “puff” in the oven.  Add the eggs and beat until combined. Add lemon juice and cream and mix again.

Pour the filling evenly among cases.

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool before storing in the fridge.

Cheesecakes are ready to serve when they are completely set and cold.

Making the “eyes”:

Drawing the eyes

Simply draw/paint the white candy balls with the edible pens to depict eyes (green/blue for the iris and red for the arteries/veins) . For the pupil I used a tiny ball made with black marzipan, mostly because my black edible pen ended (*lol*)

Drawing the eyes

Horrific? Eye popping! (yuck)

Before taking the cheesecakes to the school I added about one teaspoon of bilberry jam to each cheesecake and decorated with one toffee “eye”.

Cheesecake box

Happy Halloween!

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

7 Responses to ““Bloody Eyed” Mini Baked Cheesecakes for Halloween”

  1. sherimiya Says:

    Niiiiiiiice! Now this kind of mini cheesecake from biscuits I think I might manage. And how ingenious to use berry jam for a clot of messy blood… not to mention the icky eyeball itself! Marzipan does give a nice 3D effect too. So the girls are fine with the creepy Halloween decor now, eh? And I suppose it means the oven is fixed. Yay!

  2. Piparipulla Says:

    Moi! It’s good to see you back. I’ve been checking your blog to see if you posted again, I like your creativity in the kitchen.
    As for me, I love Halloween and I made a small Halloween themed bento :P

    Happy Spooky Halloween!

  3. karaimame Says:

    Oh yes, they are very quick to make if you like cheesecakes ^_^!
    Hmm… no… the girls are not ok with creepy Halloween stuff. They just refused to pick scary costumes even if all the other kids at school were wearing them.. >_< . Hah! Maybe next year :)
    Uh.. the oven… not fixed yet! I made some arrangements so I could bake this time :P
    Happy Halloween Sheri dear!

  4. karaimame Says:

    Moi taas! It has been hard for me to find inspiration to keep blogging… but thanks a lot for your sweet comment and support ^^!
    Your bento was very spooky!
    Happy Halloween to you too!


  5. Wow, oh so creepily and well crafted, Lil! Always fun to see a new, creative post from you!

  6. karaimame Says:

    So happy to have your visit Jenn! Thank you so much, your words always bring me cheers ^^.


  7. those are really cute! and what a wonderful idea!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

