Ham and tomato tart with emmental cheese

April 28, 2012

Ham and tomato tart with emmental cheese

Hello everyone!

It has been a while I know… sickness in the family to blame my disappearance! We caught a terrible stomach flu (or viral gastroenteritis, before my sis corrects me :P) and as usual, after making rounds I am the last one suffering from it. Ugh!

Well, enough from that (ugly subject!). I made this tart sometime ago but took me a while to write the recipe down and transfer the photos to my computer…! See… I am lazy… (*slap* *slap*)

The tart was very good… I liked the fruity taste the emmental cheese gave to it… but please! It is an OD, eat lots of salad with it! ;)

Ham and tomato tart with emmental cheese

Pastry recipe from here , filling adapted from here.

Yield a  ∅ 24 cm pie. Serves 8.

For the pastry

  • 175 g flour, plus extra for dusting
  • pinch of salt
  • 75 g butter
  • enough cold water (I needed about 2-3 tbsp)
For the filling
  • 150g smoked turkey ham, cut into strips
  • 150g grated emmental cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g crème fraîche (I used Valio hyla)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped basil
  • 1 spring onion,chopped
  • fresh cracked black pepper
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced (gently pat dry with a paper towel)
  • fresh basil leaves to garnish
In a bowl, rub together the butter and flour with a pinch of salt with your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Slowly add the cold water, a little at the time to make the crumb mixture come together to form a firm dough. You don’t need to knead it much. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for 30 min – 1 hour.

Roll out the pastry on a light floured surface and line a 24cm pie dish. Chill again.

Preheat oven to 200C.

Remove the pastry case from the fridge. You can bake blind for 20 minutes before adding the filling but I skipped this step this time (< lazy again!)

Sprinkle the ham strips into the pastry base, the cheese, chopped basil and spring onions.

Combine the eggs with the crème fraîche in a bowl and season with paprika and black pepper. Pour over the ham and cheese.

Arrange the tomato slices on top of the tart and bake for about 30 minutes until set (and gets golden)

Remove from the oven and allow to cool. Garnish with basil leaves and serve with salad.

Ham and tomato tart with emmental cheese

Simple isn’t it? You can use ready pastry if you don’t want to make it yourself. Pikkusiili just eats this crazily… she adores cheese. On the other hand… Luonnonvoima is not a big fan >.<! Sisters, so similar but so different!

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

10 Responses to “Ham and tomato tart with emmental cheese”

  1. sherimiya Says:

    That tart is so perfect it should be in a magazine. How do you get the tomatoes to look so amazing? I know my daughter will love the egg n cheese (she is a cheese maniac too) and my son will love the salty ham and tomato combo. I saw a recipe for wheatless pie crust i may give it a try. Welcome back to health!

  2. Shirley Says:

    Mmmm this looks SO good Lilian! I always e hoy your posts, hope you feel better soon.

  3. karaimame Says:

    Wheatless pie crust sounds like a great idea! Please tell me when you make it!
    I really enjoyed the addition of fresh tomatoes here… it balances well the heavy flavors of the cheese and ham.
    Thank you Sheri!!

  4. karaimame Says:

    Oh Shirley, so happy to “see” you here ^^! Thank you friend, I am getting better and better all the time ;)


  5. I agree with Sheri, this looks so magazine worthy! And mouth watering..

  6. Ohayo Bento Says:

    The tart looks like perfection! Everything about it sounds amazing. I’m so sorry your family hasn’t felt well lately, that’s not fun at all. Take care!

  7. Piparipulla Says:

    Hello!
    The tart looks delicious, I love salty pies yumm yumm.
    Sad to hear that you were sick, stomach flu is TERRIBLE!!
    Glad you’re better now :)

    Hauskaa Vappua!

  8. karaimame Says:

    Oi amiga, thanks! I love quiches… too bad they are so full of calories! ehehehe

  9. karaimame Says:

    Aw sweet Heather, thanks! I am much better today :).

  10. karaimame Says:

    Moi!! Thank you Piparipulla! Oh yes… mahatauti is so annoying!! Well… that´s what I get having kids at the playgroup >_<!
    Hauskaa Vappua sinullekin!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

