The first Spring bento: bunnies and chicks!

March 28, 2012

The first Spring bento!

Yep, the first Spring bento that I make after a long “bento-break”!  Actually… I can’t even consider we have Spring yet! *lol*

There is still plenty of snow everywhere but surprisingly it is melting relatively fast. Uh, I really hate this time of the year… everything is still so brown, dusty, slushy and all kinds of ugly stuff gets uncovered when the snow goes away. I am totally looking forward to see green, sprouts and flowers :)

Until the time comes, we need to cheer up ourselves with imaginary bunnies and chicks >_< …

The first Spring bento!

Inside the boxes: Lettuce bed with a bunny onigiri (cheeks made of carrot and nose made of sausage), tamagoyaki chick with carrot beak, steamed broccoli, mini plum tomato, spinach with ponzu sauce, nitrate and msg free pan fried hot dogs. Smaller box contains sweet corn, raw carrots, broccoli, red grapes and a clementine.

Note the cute new bunny pick I got! Thanks to a special bento friend ^_^.

The first Spring bento!

How´s the Spring / Autumn where you live? Hope nice!!

 

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

15 Responses to “The first Spring bento: bunnies and chicks!”

  1. bobo Says:

    lovely bentos! yeah..hope the Spring comes soon!

  2. sherimiya Says:

    Awwww so cute!! Love the onigiri bunny and tamagoyaki chickie! That is just too creative and wonderful. I have to start thinking about spring and Easter? Whoa….

  3. Yenny Says:

    your bunny and chick are adorable..:)
    happy spring!

  4. Piparipulla Says:

    Adorable bentos, really. Did I already say that I love your blog?
    Hahaha XD
    I guess you got the bento boxes and accessories from internet, right? There’s no way I can find them in shops here :(

  5. Emi Says:

    I just love this post. it’s so inspiring!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Aw, thanks! Waiting for Spring!!

  7. karaimame Says:

    Sheri, thanks! Might be my second onigiri bunny bento… they are always white :P. Eehehe

  8. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Yenny! Happy Spring (or is it Autumn?) to you and your sweeties too!

  9. karaimame Says:

    Aw, grazie Piparipulla! I think you are one of the first people that makes bento in Finland I have contact to ;).
    Yep, most of my bento gear were bought online. There´s practically nothing in Finnish shops…

  10. karaimame Says:

    Thank you! Happy Spring!

  11. Piparipulla Says:

    Yes, the bentomania is not yet very popular in Finland.
    I have some japanese bentos but they were gift from friends, I never bought online. Here in Finland I found a nice Barbapapa bento though, with 2 cups inside :)

  12. Jenn Altbach Says:

    spring joyfulness leaps from these charming bentos–we are having a little downturn of chill and grey today and these really perked me up. happy colorful and delightful spring to you and yours, Lilian!

  13. karaimame Says:

    Oh! I hope the sun comes back and spring gets backlight for its colorful spectacle ^^!
    Makes me happy to know the bento cheered you up ;), thank you friend!


  14. Heehee!! So cute! I especially love the chicks. I wish I wish to create cute characters out of rice too but my kid, she looks asian, but she is so not asian! She won’t eat the rice at times. Maybe if she saw this she would eat it all up. You’ve really sprung on spring! Your girls are sooo lucky..

  15. karaimame Says:

    Oh! I didn’t know Kiki is not so big fan of rice! I am pretty sure you can do those cute shaped rice balls :)! You could try using a rice mold, easier that way ^^
    You are so sweet with your comments Chantale! Thank you amiga!!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

