Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate “core”. #TwitterOrangeParty

March 1, 2012

Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate core

Hi everyone!

February went so fast! LV (my oldest daughter) had her Winter break last week so we took the opportunity to visit my sister-in-law on a long delicious weekend. It was really nice to meet my SIL´s family! My girls enjoyed playing with their sweet cousin a lot.

Now it is March and we are back to the routines… this week has been exceptionally busy and I added one more thing to get annoyed with… by falling on the sidewalk when picking the kiddo from pre school. Gosh! The weather is so inconsistent, one day is cold and snowy and the next, temperatures goes over 0°C. I was pulling my daughter´s sled downhill and to avoid her to slide away I might have stepped wrong and slipped on the ice. Yep, a twisted split for the amuse of my daughter :D. Hahaha, a clumsy grand ecárt landing on my right hip. Go figure… my thigh is so sore I walk like a zombie. >_<

Ok! Now back to what this blog is about :D (I´ll do fine, no worries ;)

Because of our trip I somehow missed the Twitter Food Party this month… sort of. It was last Monday and the theme was Oranges! (If you have twitter, check the hashtag #twitterorangeparty) . Gladly I have the timezones on my side and I baked something on Tuesday to contribute for the potluck (cheating…)! I posted some pictures already via instagram and now I share the recipe!

Check also my friends´ Orange dishes on the #twitterfoodparty Flickr pool !!

Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate core

Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate core

Recipe adapted from the Finnish magazine Glorian Ruoka & Viini n°40 7/2006

Yields 24 mini cakes (plus 5 normal sized)

  • 100g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 dl caster sugar
  • 1 dl demerara sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 5 dl wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 200g natural yoghurt (6% fat) . I used Bulgarian yogurt.
  • 1 orange (juice and zest)
  • dark chocolate (about 50g, cut into cubes) – optional

Preheat oven to 200 °C and line a 24-hole mini muffin tin with paper cases. Prepare to get some extra cases if necessary.

Place the butter, sugars and orange zest into the bowl of your mixer and beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder and baking soda.

Remove the bowl from your mixer and start adding alternately the flour mixture and yogurt, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour. At last, fold carefully the orange juice.

Spoon the mixture into the cases, place one piece of dark chocolate into the middle of each cup. Using a teaspoon, move a bit of the mixture to cover totally the chocolate piece.

Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until risen and golden-brown and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool.

Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate core

If you want to eat your cake with a slightly melted chocolate core, microwave the ready ones for a few seconds before serving. Delicious with a cup of tea!!

 

NewImage

 

OH! And I almost forgot!! Days ago my messy blog was nominated for the Liebster Blog Award by the lovely Ana from I love tortilla de Patatas! Thank you Ana!! So sweet of you :)! Check her beautiful blog, she is a darling Spanish girl who, after living in many places, ended up in the Netherlands ^_^.  It is recent that I started following her (via twitter first) but I am totally hypnotized by her photography and delicious recipes! And YES, I also love tortilla de patatas!! Who doesn’t?

 

 

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

 

8 Responses to “Mini orange cakes with dark chocolate “core”. #TwitterOrangeParty”


  1. Utterly delish–orange and chocolate is an all-time favorite flavor combination of mine! Spring’s coming fast and early here, hoping the same for you up North, dear Lil!

  2. sherimiya Says:

    Oh my gosh this sounds SO so good! I love that there’s yogurt in there, and I wonder what Bulgarian yogurt tastes like…
    I like the cube of chocolate idea, but my cubes will have to be much, much bigger…
    And the little leaf picks are just adorable in there!

  3. kat Says:

    These cakes look delicious. I hope your hip gets better soon! take care.

  4. karaimame Says:

    Oooh, orange and chocolate combo is my favorite too! Can´t resist….
    I am so envious you are getting Spring already ^_^!
    Thank you Jenn!

  5. karaimame Says:

    Hmm… Bulgarian yogurt is very rich and thick, similar to Turkish yogurt… but it feels a little more sour than the last one. Well, both are delicious anyways =).
    Ehehe, I think I should have been a bit more generous with the chocolate pieces >_<. Next time bigger ones!
    Thank you Sheri!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Kat! I am feeling much better today ;)

  7. Chantale Says:

    Congrats on the blog award!! So awesome. How did I miss this recipe? I love orange and chocolate together! Mm, looks so delish and how cute with those green leaf picks? :D

  8. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Chantale! Sorry I took too long to reply… was so sick for more than a week… bleh.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

