Puppy love bento

February 7, 2012

Puppy love bento

February has arrived! And inspired by a sweet Valentine´s card my girls received today from their great-grandparents, I made a bento with the love theme ^_^.

Contents: Iri-dofu (tofu scramble), mini plum tomato, steamed broccoli, nectarine slices, mandarine orange and a cute cup (ありがとう M!) with carrot sticks and red grapes. The brown puppy is made with rice mixed with shoyu and the white one is a plain onigiri with nori details. *SMOOOOOCH*

Puppy love bento

Pikkusiili said I should have put more ketchup on the puppy´s cheek, because it was too “pale”. Did she mean no blushing enough? XD

***

Taikataikina - no cook salt play dough

Ah yes… some friends have been asking how are we doing with all the news about the severe winter in Europe. We are doing fine :), there is indeed plenty of snow and some very cold days… I guess we are used, it doesn’t bother us so much.

When the girls can’t go outside to play we try to do some activities at home. They got mini baking equipment toys on Christmas from my in-laws and grandmother taught them to make salt play dough to use with the stuff.

I made the dough again, it is a very easy no-cook recipe. So simple but surely delivered a few hours of entertainment to my daughters! Our “fake bakery” was a success then ^_^.

Taikataikina / no cook salt play dough

adapted from here . Taikataikina means “magic dough” also called suolataikina in Finnish (suola=salt, taikina=dough)

  • 6 dl wheat flour (about 3 cups)
  • 3 dl salt (11/2 cup)
  • 3 dl warm water (300ml , warm enough to dissolve the salt)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used canola)
  • food coloring if desired

Combine the salt and flour in a mixing bowl. The coarser the salt, the more the granulous effect.

Make a well in the dry mixture and gradually add the water, kneading until the dough becomes smooth and elastic. Add the vegetable oil and combine everything again.

For the colored dough, I divided the neutral dough into 4 pieces and added food coloring (red, blue and yellow) to each, kneading until getting an even color. For the other colors, I just let the girls mix the basic balls and have fun with the discoveries.

While playing I recommend covering the unused dough with plastic because it tends to dry very fast.

The salt dough can be stored in a sealed container in the refrigerator for a couple of days.

Taikataikina - no cook salt play dough

Happy week friends!

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

12 Responses to “Puppy love bento”

  1. Chantale Says:

    I love the puppies kissing each other! So adorable. Looks delicious too. : ) I’m sure my girl would loooove to play with those play dough with your girls! I think they would be playing for hours.. which would leave us adults to do absolutely nothing. lol!

  2. sherimiya Says:

    Aaaaah, I spy Anpanman! And a cute lil onigiri!
    What fun! We haven’t played playdoh in a long time, but my kids were always making food items too; pink pizza, and green spaghetti, and other “appetizing” stuff :)
    So cute your lil love-puppies! The fluffy rice give them a cuddly look. So nice to celebrate Valentines Day already! I suppose it is coming up, so need to take advantage of the whole week to enjoy the day of love… ^_^ <3 <3 <3

  3. Lia Chen Says:

    So sweet! Love how you got the idea and applied it to your kids’ bento. I think the puppy don’t need more blushes but P does LOL :D My kids always make food items too if they are playing playdoh. And they have these playdoh machines to make ice creams and cakes. Little A always mixed the different colors of playdoh and Big A will get angry after that hahaha … (^.^)

  4. karaimame Says:

    It would be so great if our girls could play together! But I am not so sure about adults doing nothing :P ehehehehe
    Thank you Chantale!

  5. karaimame Says:

    WIth the gorgeous weather there I totally understand why your kids haven´t played playdoh for a long time! It is so interesting they like to make food items isn’t it? I think it is so fun to watch their ideas popping out :)
    Thank you Sheri for your sweet comment! Smooches all the way to SF! xoxoxo

  6. karaimame Says:

    Oh, LV has that cake kit too! She gets so angry when lil sister mix up the colors as well… “mom! Now we have this big grey ball! CANNOT PLAY ANYMORE” ahahah, LOL.
    Thank you Lia for your lovely comment ;)

  7. Ohayo Bento Says:

    I love the smooching puppies! They’re adorable. I miss playing with doug and clay, it was always so much fun. The girls are lucky to have such a cool Momma to be stuck in the snow with. Stay warm!

  8. Natakiya Says:

    The puppies are so adorable! I love how much expression you gave them, so perfect :) Your girls’ playdough creations are so neat – the onigiri is awesome!

  9. karaimame Says:

    Aw Heather, thank you! You should definitely play with dough, even being an adult ^_^. It is good for the creativity flow :)

  10. karaimame Says:

    They were a bit of disappointed we couldn’t get “black” dough, but still! We had onigiri ^_^. Thank you Natakiya!

  11. Piparipulla Says:

    Your blog is super cute and awesome! I’m glad I found it!
    I’m Italian but I live in Finland too now, and I love making bentos. But my bentos not as wonderful as yours :)
    (I posted some in my blog if you want to see)

    Have a lovely weekend!

  12. karaimame Says:

    Hi Piparipulla!

    Welcome to my blog and thank you so much for you sweet comment!
    I´ve seen your bentos, they are very nice! I prepare the bentos mostly to my daughters but I also make “adults” bentos to my husband… tho, never post them :P (too boring maybe?)

    Have a great weekend you too! ^_^


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

