Little snack meal for Finland´s Independence Day

December 6, 2011

Little snack meal for Finland´s Independence Day

Finland celebrates Independence Day today, December 6th. Besides being a holiday, the day is marked by many events everywhere and it is closed with the annual President´s Ball which is broadcasted on tv every year.

For us, this tuesday was a day to relax. I was very glad we had this long weekend (LV didn’t need to go to pre school yesterday), to recharge our batteries and prepare for the Christmas Holidays.

We woke up very late and got surprised when we opened the curtains. Land outside was all covered with a white layer ^_^ ! The first snow of the year in Helsinki :)!! Too bad it melted away already, but it was beautiful in the morning.

I thought about making a bento featuring only Finnish food today, but in the end, I only made this little meal for my girls. Just to celebrate!

Little snack meal for Finland´s Independence Day

Contents:

- Karjalanpiirakoita – mini Karelian pastries

These little “pies” are traditional pastries from the region of Karelia, eaten all over Finland nowadays. Consists usually by a rye crust filled with rice porridge or potato mash. Barley used to be its filling in old times but not anymore. My mother-in-law taught be to make karjalanpiirakka years ago… her pastries are the best I ever ate! However.. those “mini” ones were store bought, pre-baked (yes I know, not the same as homemade…)

- Small container with munavoi

Butter mixed with boiled eggs (muna translates to egg, voi is butter), a usual spread for the karjalanpiirakka.

- Leipäjuusto “hearts” with mixed berries jam

Leipäjuusto translates to “bread cheese”. It is a fresh cheese which origins comes from Ostrobothnia(area from Finland which once belonged to Sweden), Northern Finland and Kainuu.

This kind of cheese is prepared into flat round disks then baked and grilled (or charred) for the dark marks. Usually eaten with cloudberry jam and coffee. They “squeak” nicely when you chew them ^_^!

- Mini yoghurt dessert with crushed gingerbread (piparkakku), thick yoghurt with vanilla, topped with Finnish bilberries (mustikka). The berries were collected from the forest in late Summer and they are an important source of vitamins during the Finnish winter.

- Muumipeikko or Moomintroll made with a fluffy slice of pulla (Finnish sweet cardamon bread). Eyes are dashes of melted chocolate

- Cherry tomato, cucumber slices, green apple flower and for a treat, Fazer sininen chocolates. The most loved milk chocolate of Finnish people ;)

Hope you didn’t get bored while reading my post today…  I really enjoyed writing about a bit of the Finnish food culture ^_^

Hyvää Itsenäisyyspäivää kaikille!!

(Happy Independence Day Finnish friends!)

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

12 Responses to “Little snack meal for Finland´s Independence Day”

  1. Ohayo Bento Says:

    Thank you for explaining what ll of the foods are. I’ve never had traditional Finnish food before, I’d love to try it! Happy Independence Day!

  2. Chantale Says:

    Happy Finnish day to you Lil and family! Wow, why do you keep the date when it’s cold outside? ; ) It *is* a Moomin up there! I love it, he’s so cute. I’ve never tried finnish food per se, it doesn’t get as much press as other scandinavian countries does it? It looks really delicious! Hope you continue to enjoy the day. xo

  3. Sheri Says:

    Oh gosh, I love it all! Bread cheese?? Brilliant. And I love the presentation, and the darling Moomintroll… And the cool Moomin cutlery– ahhh all so cute!! Happy Independence Day my Finnish friend!

  4. bobo Says:

    wow.. what an lovely meal.. love the moonmin sandwich.. do you have moonmin cutter or you cut freehand?

  5. Yenny Says:

    Happy Independence day, dear. You have many yummy snacks *I am drooling now*.thank you for sharing :)

  6. Dot Says:

    I discovered your blog (thru Happy Little Bento) about a week ago & love it! I hope you’ll tell us about growing up in Brazil & how you came to be in Finland. It must be such an interesting story!

  7. karaimame Says:

    If you have any opportunity please try! I would love to know your opinion about it ^^
    Thank you Heather!

  8. karaimame Says:

    Now that you asked… I believe the Finnish food is similar to our Scandinavian neighbors´… Anyways, you should come to Finland to have a try ;)
    Thank you Chantale!

  9. karaimame Says:

    Aw, thank you Sheri!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Whoah! Sorry for the superlate reply… I was sick for a while..
    I have a moomin cutter, yes! They are popular during the holidays and I bought I new one recently ;)
    Thank you for your sweet comment!

  11. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Yenny! Happy holidays ;)

  12. karaimame Says:

    Hello Dot! Thank you and welcome to my blog! I am very happy to have you commenting here ^^
    Oh… your suggestion is very tempting… I hope nobody will get bored with my stories ;)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

