Christmas tree bento

December 1, 2011

Christmas tree bento

A bento to celebrate the Christmas season!

It was so good to return making bentos again… but it is weird to get back to the habit :/. I am totally needing some practice… not only on making the meals, but also… taking pictures of them! Gosh… I was so used to my previous settings in the old apartment I found challenging to take photos in my new kitchen. I will get better, I hope :P!

And yes, I confess I stole the idea of using the star picks for the Christmas trees from Sheri, the lovely owner of Happy Little Bento Blog. Her use of picks is brilliant, she will always be my bento-heroine inspiration of all times :).

AH! And before I forget!!! New bento boxes in this post! I got them before our moving from a sweet bento friend of mine. Thank you ^^, my girls loved the HK ♥!

Christmas tree bento

Contents: rice with furikake, grilled chicken breast pieces, steamed broccoli, cucumber slices, pearl tomatoes, purple carrots, orange wedges, red grapes and Christmas shaped pasta. The tree is a mini onigiri wrapped with wilted spinach decorated with carrots “balls”.

Must say they enjoy eating spinach nowadays! Wohoo!!!

:)

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

8 Responses to “Christmas tree bento”

  1. sheri Says:

    Gosh it’s so nice to see your little sweet bento again Lily! I love your Christmas trees and the adorable present pasta; I’m sure the girls were overjoyed to be given the fun bento they’re so find of.
    I know what you mean about the different lighting – I see differences even in the same spot at different times of year… Coming up on the dark periods soon.
    Hey, thank you for the mention! You will be my crafty heroine for all time, you know that right… !

  2. Natakiya Says:

    Welcome back to bentoing! Your cute bentos have been missed and I’m so glad that life is letting you get back to making them. It looks perfectly, I don’t know what you mean about needing practice :p The whole bento is lovely but the Christmas trees steal the spotlight!

  3. Yenny Says:

    Welcome back!
    your bento is so festive. Love your beautiful tree and color composition in your box

  4. Chantale Says:

    That is such a great idea with the xmas tree! And I love how bright and yummy this looks. Oh wow, Keira just saw this and got all excited and asked me to make the same! uh oh… She thought the carrot balls on the xmas tree was ‘piments’ (peppers) and said, ‘I don’t want that’. lol. I also love the gift + santa pasta!!

  5. karaimame Says:

    You are so right about the lighting… I still can´t just find a best way to make the photos…
    The girls were so happy to be back eating obentos! I felt good ^^.
    Thank you Sheri!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Oh.. I need practicing yes! Omigosh, you all my bento-friends have been doing amazing meals lately!
    Thank you Natakiya!

  7. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Yenny! Winter is so bad for us… fresh fruits and veggies are so difficult to get ^^

  8. karaimame Says:

    I suck so much when I find different cut for pastas… I could call that an obsession… trying to find new ones all the time. The Christmas one was so cute I couldn’t resist…
    I believe Keira will love a Xmas tree bento!! Huge smooch for you both!
    Thank you Chantale!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

