2011 Advent Calendar – 2011 Joulukalenteri

November 30, 2011

2011 Advent Calendar - 2011 Joulukalenteri

December tomorrow!

Tell me what that means… Christmas is coming! Am I stressed? Nah…

This time I decided to take it easier… too much happened during the second half of the year, end of it should be more relaxing… (< did you just giggle there? I mean, I think I saw you smiling at least :)

Eh

As I told before, I invented this tradition to make a homemade Advent Calendar every year. After many rejected ideas (the most from my husband I must say :P) I decided for this Christmas Wreath, not as superb as the previous calendars, yet hopefully good enough to celebrate each day of the month and the most important: to get my girls excited about the upcoming holiday :)

I really considered skipping the tradition this year. I changed my mind when the other day, while browsing for ready chocolate-filled Advent Calendars at a shop, I was asked by my daughters if I was going make one for them… “because they still remember how the last year´s was”… *swoon* I melted.

2011 Advent Calendar - 2011 Joulukalenteri

2011 Advent Calendar – Christmas Wreath

Keeping in mind “it must be easy and fun”, this no-frills calendar was quite quick to assemble. I used a silver vine wreath (from a craft shop), “goodies” wrapped with red crêpe paper, wires and embellishments.

Brilliant right?! :D

I diminish the amount of treats they will receive each day considerably. Pretty much into a no-waste/keepsake style, using a 250 pieces puzzle for the filling (and plus! I can keep the wreath afterwards! Yay!). My girls love puzzles (we recently built a 1000 pieces puzzle together) and I thought it will be thrilling for them to build the puzzle during the countdown, not actually knowing what the final image is. Once I used the same idea with small Lego kits (Technic and Star Wars) and the results were quite funny and interesting!

How I made it:

  • Dealing with the treats: after cutting the colored paper into 24 large squares, I put about 10 puzzle pieces in each, wrapping to form a ball, twisting the ends. Note!!! Sharp pieces and crêpe paper are a no-no combo… I totally recommend to use gifts that won’t rip the paper :P. Perhaps a cool option would be to use that sort of metallic plastic wrapping paper, if you have it on hands (I didn’t)
  • Now the hard work. Using a craft wire (0.3mm), which I found to be more controllable than thread, I tied the little packages to the wreath, firmly so they stay on place. Be careful to hide the wire ends when done with the attaching.
  • Finishing it: I decorated with small polka dots jingle bells, sparkling snow flake stickers, ribbons and a red bell. At very last, I added the numbers on each paper-ball.
  • Done!!

I think it will be very easy just to pull apart the little packages from the wreath during the countdown… let´s see! ;)

Happy December friends!

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

18 Responses to “2011 Advent Calendar – 2011 Joulukalenteri”

  1. Lia Chen Says:

    Love your last year Advent Calendar! Surely love this year Advent Calendar too. Have I told you that you have a pair of magic hands for craft things? I need to say it once again … Glad that you didn’t skip this tradition, so we can enjoy your talent (^.^)

    • karaimame Says:

      Thank you Lia! I was trying to figure out when my girls will stop being interested about the calendars… until then, let´s just do it! ;)

  2. Sheri Says:

    Just as equally as wonderfully exquisite and creative as all your other advent calendars!! I’m so excited for the girls to count down to Christmas this way! What a fantastic way to start December. Good for you ^_^

  3. Chantale Says:

    Lil, this is Brilliant! Wow, love this idea of putting the puzzle pieces into each day so that at the end, it’s a whole. And! It looks gorgeous!

    • karaimame Says:

      And today, after opening the first package they bombed me with questions “how many pieces is this? What is the image?” ahahaha, so funny :)
      Thank you Chantale!

  4. Natakiya Says:

    Your advent calendar wreath is adorable! I think that I’ve already said that a few times, but it is so neat that it needs repeating. I love your craft ideas. You continue to amaze and inspire me with your crazy awesome crafting skillz! The little polka dot jingle bells are such a cute touch :) How did you get the presents distributed so evenly around the wreath? That would have had me pulling my hair out.


  5. [...] année, on fabriquait une couronne de l’Avent ? C’est l’idée que nous propose Karaimane. On appose sur un cercle en branchage, de jolies petites boules de houx façonnées en papier [...]


  6. [...] the tradition  I crafted a new one this year too, for something unique, special and interesting [...]

  7. Mom/MD Says:

    Why have I not found you before?


  8. […] Fabric Cone Advent Calendar  17. Advent Wreath  18. Matchbox Advent Calendar  19. Pottery Barn Inspired Advent Calendar  20.  Clothespin Advent […]


  9. […] Christmas Wreath Advent Calendar by Karaimame […]

  10. Whitney4THD Says:

    Hi there! Whitney from the Home Depot blog here. We love your Advent Calendar Wreath idea! We’re pinning it to our Wreaths board on Pinterest. Thanks!


  11. Superbe cette idée. Je l’ai mise dans ma sélection Pinterest concernant les calendriers de l’avent :D. tu peux voir l’article ici: http://www.panierdezazou.com/mon-choix-pinterest-les-calendriers-de-lavent/ Merci de l’avoir partagée avec nous! A plus.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

