Bento box food play set – Bento4Japan auction

April 15, 2011

Update on 27.04.2011: The box has been sold for $107,50! I am so happy it reached such price :). Thank you very much for everyone who got interested about it and specially, to the auction winner! The set is already on its way to WA ^_^!

Bento box food play set

As I posted here before, a group of bento lovers across the globe got together to raise funds for Japan. My fabulous fellow bento bloggers have been working hard keeping the Bento4Japan alive and at full steam.

The charity auctions on eBay have been terrific! Lots of bento boxes and gear had found new owners and I can only thank to the beautiful people´s generosity.

Everyone knows that I wanted to offer something to be auctioned for the cause. The problem is that I really can’t find anything suitable for the theme where I live.  Bento gear is rare, most of my personal purchases were made online.

It is true I selected stuff from my own collection to offer in the Bento4Japan raffle (by the way! The winners had been picked already, just give us a little more time and we will announce them :). My contribution is already traveling to the lucky one!).

So I thought… would it be bad to offer something handmade? Inspired by my friends who always support and keep me going ahead, I decided to craft my offering for Bento4Japan ^__^.

Bento box food play set – eBay auction

I handcrafted this lovely take away style bento box meal, perfect for pretended play or for display. The items are about life-sized and hand stitched with love and care for details.

I really try my best to make things in a way they last but felt and yarn creations are not as plastic ones, they won´t probably last as much as they would have been made from another “long lasting” material.

This set will be a joy for your little one to serve you obento anytime! (And you can also sneak to the play and practice making your bento too ;))

Most of the items which belong to the box were featured in my previous post , with addition of these little ones:

Felt food edamame and cherry tomato

So… without further ado, what is inside the box!

  • 1 lettuce leaf
  • 2 onigiris (rice balls)
  • 1 shiozake piece (salted salmon)
  • 1 lotus root (renkon) slice
  • 1 kabocha (Japanese pumpkin) wedge
  • 1 broccoli floret
  • 1 shiitake mushroom
  • 2 tamagoyaki (omelet) slices: spinach and traditional
  • 1 carrot flower
  • 1 edamame pod
  • 1 cherry tomato with wooden pick
  • 1 usagi ringo (apple bunny)
  • 2 grapes
  • 1 strawberry
  • 1 orange slice
  • 2 food cups (paper and felt polka dot)
  • 1 pair of bamboo chopsticks – not disposable type
  • 1 origami chopstick “envelope”

Bento box food set

The full description of the materials and other important information can be read in the auction page for the bento box.

I hope this can raise some money. Remember, 100% of the proceeds will go to to GlobalGiving’s Japan Relief fund. If you win, be sure you are getting something made from the heart.

Please take a look, this is the auction page! Check out the other Bento4Japan auctions too ;).

 

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.


 

 

6 Responses to “Bento box food play set – Bento4Japan auction”

  1. babykins Says:

    I’ve never eaten or seen such a gorgeous/fantastic bento before!


  2. Gorgeous and inspired way to participate in the Bento4Japan cause!

  3. Ohayo Bento Says:

    This is amazing! I was wondering what you were hinting at the other day :) I love it!!!!!

  4. karaimame Says:

    Aw, thank you so much Izumi ^_^.

  5. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Jenn, I hope I can help ;)

  6. karaimame Says:

    =)
    Thank you Heather ^^


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

