News from the felt food kitchen! (or where my time has gone)

April 13, 2011

Amigurumi onigiris

Yes… I know, I haven’t posted in this blog for about a week. It hasn’t been intentional, but I have been lacking time to do so…

But hey! I am still here ;)

Aside from the normal chores… Today I  show you what I’ve been doing lately, on late nights, children´s nap times and squeezed times of freedom:  crafting… and creating. It is just madness, ideas keep popping in my mind all the time and I can’t keep on with them in normal levels.

Crafting what? Toy food! I must admit there´s a reason behind these … and I’ve been working on the items for about 2 weeks already.

Many alpha versions got kidnapped by my girls (also some beta ones…). I needed to repeat doing same stuff many times until I got a result that I found acceptable (HAHAHA, am I this weird).

Just to mention… my girls really adore when I make toy food. They kept asking me every second “is it ready?” ” can we take it now” “are you going to end the onigiri today”. To the extreme they arranged a little box and left it by my side, demanding “here mama, you can put the ready ones”.

….wondering if they are spoiled little ladies… >_<

You will notice that most of the foods have a Japanese-style tendency (*hint* *hint*)…

Japanese nimono anyone?

Felt food lotus root, shiitake and carrotsFelt food Japanese nimono

 

Lotus root, carrots, shiitake, broccoli…



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




 

 

Steamed kabocha

Felt kabocha

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pan fried shiozake (salted salmon)

Felt food salmon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Traditional tamagoyaki and spinach filled one

Felt food tamagoyaki

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little fruit cup

Felt food assortment of fruits

 

Apple bunny (usagi ringo), grapes, strawberry and an orange wedge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These were really fun to craft ( ok.. ok.. I had some nervous breakdowns during the process :P ).  I liked the results… there´s room for improvement but I am very happy anyways :).

(Hope you like them too!)

 

 

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.


19 Responses to “News from the felt food kitchen! (or where my time has gone)”

  1. mils Says:

    I want to move in with your girls – I ADORE THEM!! So beautifully made – and utterly different from all the play toys that I already have. I love it I love it I love it!!!!!!

  2. Sheri Says:

    So utterly beautiful and realistically done. You have major talent, my dear. I love the way the bottom on the mushroom is detailed, showing the care you take even on the part we won’t see. And the shiozake is just the right color! No wonder your girls are so enchanted. They get to live in a world of magically handcrafted miniature foodstuffs. I want to live there too!!

  3. Ohayo Bento Says:

    You are amazing! The attention to detail is awe inspiring. I think I want to come and move in with you :)

  4. bobo Says:

    they are so pretty.. again i want to say, your little girls are so blessed..

    Love the apple bunny..

  5. Susan Yuen Says:

    Oh my those are just adorable!!! You are so talented and creative!!

  6. hapabento Says:

    Hi Lil, You are so talented. Thanks for sharing your crafts. They are perfectly realistic and charming.

  7. Honey F Says:

    These are absolutely delightful! They inspire me, but look really difficult. I think I can handle the tomagoyaki and will have to raid the felt supply to give it a try. Did you sew them together or glue them? I think you must have sewn them, they look so tidy and durable. Thanks for sharing! :)

  8. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Mils! If you want to share the same bedroom you are more than welcome to come ;)

  9. karaimame Says:

    Eêêê, Brigadú!!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Aw Sheri.. thank you so much for so beautiful comment! I really liked the final result of the salmon… Wish I had all felt colors of the world for my creations ;)

  11. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Heather!!! Are you sure? You will need to stand my girls excited by getting a “new friend” ;)

  12. karaimame Says:

    Thank you ^__^!

  13. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Susan! You are the adorable one ;)

  14. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Deb! So honored to have your visit here ^__^!

  15. karaimame Says:

    Hi Honey! The tamagoyaki was both glued and sewn together. I used white glue and made stitches to secure them :)
    Let me know if you managed to make one! I´d love to see it ^^
    Thanks for the comment!


  16. Very beautiful, very charming! And so fun to read about the burst of creativity and joy with which you are creating these magic “foods”!


  17. [...] of the items which belong to the box were featured in my previous post , with addition of these little [...]

  18. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Jenn! I loved your “magic foods” mention :), it was so nice to read ^_^


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

