Chicken stir fry bento and some words about Bento4Japan

March 25, 2011

 

Chicken stir fry bento

I made these speedy bentos for the girls today. Not much cuteness factor but they were happy to see the little tomato ladybugs. I must admit you, results are not so good when you are in a hurry…

Thanks everyone who had asked about our flu/cough/sickness. We really appreciated the well wishes ^^. Girls are much better, coughing once and a while, so I (almost) consider them all healthy again.

As we got better, I could finally go out and check the fruits and veggies nearby. Happy to find good clementines… they were juicy and sweet… my last purchase was a total failure (dry with that yuck-flavor). Looking forward to Spring and the fresh produce it brings…

The contents of the boxes: chicken stir fry with mixed vegetables and noodles (I usually put a handful of cashew nuts but I forgot this time :/. Pikkusiili is a huge fan of nuts ^_^ ),  lettuce, raw baby-carrots, cherry tomato ladybugs with nori details, dark grapes and clementines.

AHA! So you thought I don´t “obento” anymore ;). I can surprise you sometimes :P.

Talking about bentos…

As I mentioned before, me and my friends in the bento community all over the world have come together to establish a fundraising event for the Japanese quake victims, what we call “Bento4Japan“.

In 9 days of its operations we managed to raise $2000 (so far), which makes me extremely happy and thankful to all people involved. Contributions and bids on our bento auctions have been exceptionally good and we still keep going on. For european friends who cannot bid for the gorgeous bento gear offered on ebay, we have a raffle available for you to participate. Please take a look if you have time ^^.

Another thing…

Actually… it is a favor I ask. Everyone knows I´ve been following the news about the earthquake in Japan and the devastating results that came after it.

I try to get as much information as I can, reading news mostly (I am not much a tv-person anyways) and I noticed there have been many absurd articles, here and there. Some texts tend to emphasize topics in such way that lead to terrible misunderstandings.

Maki from Just Hungry/Just Bento wrote a very good message to the bento community, pointing out ways how we can help Japan, not only by donating… but also, by keeping our minds open for learning and educating ourselves. I explain… with so much doubtful perspectives and sensationalism, it is quite easy to fall on hysteria and misinformation.

Please head to her blog and read the message. It serves not only to the bento community, but for everyone. We need to keep rational (and reasonable, right?)  ;)

 

This post was written by karaimame exclusively for Acquiring Taste. All writing, images and other materials in this blog remain the property of Acquiring Taste and cannot be used without permission.

 

 

14 Responses to “Chicken stir fry bento and some words about Bento4Japan”

  1. Ohayo Bento Says:

    I agree, Bento4Japan has been amazing! I can’t believe we’ve raised that much money!!! I love your little lady bugs, they’re adorable!

  2. sheri Says:

    I like the ladybugs! How did you stick the nori? I used salad oil and had a hard time. Good to spread the word about the EU raffle too. I’ll have to add the link on my post too. Glad you are nearing good health again too :o)


  3. Really cute and striking ladybugs! Love the sense of green abundance in this bento :D

  4. Laura Says:

    A Ayu adorou as joaninhas!

    O franguinho me deu vontade de comer aquele arroz basmati com frango que você faz… hummmmm.

    Ah, agora no sábado, a cada 15 dias, também tá passando um caminhãozinho de sorvete da Family Frost, a Ayu fala que é “dingual da Filândia”!

    Saudades!

    Beijocas.

  5. karaimame Says:

    Oie Lau! Que legal que a Ayu gostou ^^. As joaninhas deram um trabalho! ahahaha, ng manda inventar :P
    Nossa, agora tem caminhao do sorvete! êêêêÊ, ah.. eu também queria comida congelada…. ;)
    Agora que vc comentou do arroz basmati… acho q vou fazer de novo! Vem comer com nóis!
    Beijoooo… saudade também!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Aw Jenn, thank you!

  7. karaimame Says:

    Yea… I tried oil too and it didn’t want to get stuck… I used water+lemon juice. weird combination… and if you take a careful look, the nori started to dry and fall off ;_; (in this case ok because I was serving it soon.. i tried cream cheese once. It worked but it doesn’t dry “clear” :P)
    Thank you Sheri for the well wishes and comment ^_^!

  8. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Heather! So amazed by our bento community! Very proud ^^

  9. Bela Says:

    Olá, cheguei aqui depois de dar muitas voltas pela web! Adorei seus bentôs! Meu marido é de descendência japonesa e adora bentôs!
    Vou espiar mais seu blog!!
    Beijos!!!
    Bela

    http://belachadebaunilha.blogspot.com/

  10. karaimame Says:

    Oi oi Bela!
    Obrigada pela visita! Espero que goste da espiada ;)
    Beijos :)

  11. natakiya Says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post! The ladybugs are so cute :) They don’t look like you were in a hurry to me, the bentos are great! I love how you used the little girl picks :D

  12. karaimame Says:

    (ehehe,i almost made ladybugs without dots = red beetles? , to skip the trouble :P)
    Thanks natakiya!

  13. jrcasas Says:

    Hi, I really love your bento creations. Would it be ok to post this at Tumblr? I will include the webpage of course. Thank you

  14. karaimame Says:

    Hello! I am glad to hear you like my bento! It is not a problem if you want to post it at Tumblr ^_^ and I´ll be thankful if you include the source :).
    Thank you for visiting me too!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

