“Can´t get you out of my head” sandwich bento

February 10, 2011

Not exactly a Valentine´s day bento, but I think it fits the theme :P. In Finland there is what we call “Ystävänpäivä” (translated to “Friend´s day”), celebrated on Feb 14th. According to Wikipedia, it seems to be the second most important reason to send cards and postcards (Christmas is the 1st) in Finland, but to tell you the truth… I didn’t get much since I moved here.

Well… I remember making Valentine´s cards at my English school when I was a kid and that was it… XD

I prepared the bentos in the morning so the girls could eat them after coming home, at lunch time. (And I just noticed I don´t have heart decorative picks! How non-romantic I am…)

Contents of the boxes: whole wheat bread sandwich with sun-dried tomato cream-cheese, turkey ham and cheese. Bear made out of rye bread (taikaruis-leipä), cheese and nori, “bird” made with cheddar, a tiny carrot piece and nori. Lettuce, steamed carrots and edamame pods, cherry tomatoes, clementines and apple slices.

Ehehe, yep I noticed the bear on the left has weird eyes ^_^. It is the love ♡♥ ! :D

18 Responses to ““Can´t get you out of my head” sandwich bento”

  1. sheri Says:

    I see cute pink heart picks! Is it Rilakkuma and Kiiroitori? So cute in supertiny miniature. Looks like a fun bento for the girls. Thanks for reminding me of Valentines. I have yet to make one. I guess today., if I can think of something…

  2. karaimame Says:

    Oh! Now that you mentioned Rilakkuma and Kiiroitori I see the similarities… I got inspired by amigurumi type of bears which usually have a chick “stuck” to their heads ;). Tried to get that “fluffy” texture by using a fluted round cutter ^_^.
    I can´t wait to see what you come up for the Valentine´s! Your bento is always inspiring =).
    Thanks for the sweet comment Sheri!

  3. ChantaleP Says:

    Heehee! I love those tiny birds! Rila what? Kiiro who? I am so out of the loop. lol. These are like double the goodness! I haven’t made any valentine or rabbit bentos at all! I’m just enjoying looking at everyone elses. lol. Like yours!

  4. Lia Chen Says:

    Agree with Sheri. They are looks like Rilakkuma and Kiiroitori and they are super cute! Especially the super tiny Kiiroitori, love it <3 Those 2 pink bentos are so sweet. Have to mention so smart too for the title hehehe … (^.^)

  5. bobo Says:

    aww.. just love your bento to bits.. especially the lil bird. That’s so lovely.

  6. Xelia Says:

    Love the title of ur post! N of course the chicks n bears! Happy Friend’s Day! ;)

  7. Susan Yuen Says:

    Oh my gosh these bentos are so cute!!! Absolutely sweet and yummy. :)


  8. Just love these twin bear and birdie bentos, squeeeee! Happy Friend’s Day :D

  9. Akemi Says:

    Acho que precisaria de um microscópio para fazer os detalhes do pintinho! XD
    Não imaginava que aí tem edamame! Que delícia, adoro, são viciantes! Viciantes tbm era os chocolates que abundavam nos mercados e lojas de departamento no Japão nessa época de Valentines! Um mais lindo do que outro e ao invés de comprar para dar, comprava para mim! Shame on me!!! rsss
    Desejo um feliz dia do amigo, amiga!
    Bjs e bom final de semana!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Chantale ^_^! I also enjoy to just look around, our adorable bento friend´s creations :)

  11. karaimame Says:

    :D so you liked the title, I am very happy to know :).
    Thank you Lia!

  12. karaimame Says:

    Oh… so glad you liked them! Thank you for your sweet comment ^_^

  13. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Xelia! Happy Friend´s day to you and your lovely family! ^^

  14. karaimame Says:

    Aw Susan! Thanks!

  15. karaimame Says:

    Thank you! Happy Friend´s Day to you too Jenn!

  16. karaimame Says:

    Akemi-chan! Nossa, se eu te contar que o pintinho foi feito na segunda tentativa ^_^!
    Pois é… acho edamame em uma loja especializada japonesa, congelado e com um preço bem salgado.. Mas as meninas gostam, tento pôr nos obentos delas como “treat” :)
    E os chocolates do Valentine´s do Japao… nossa, cada coisa linda…
    Um super Feliz Dia do Amigo para você também querida!!
    Beijoooo!

  17. Debra Says:

    Your bentos, like all your crafts and baking are adorable. Perfection.

  18. karaimame Says:

    Debra, thank you so much for your kind words!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

