Chocolate mousse cake

January 20, 2011

Chocolate mousse cake

Ah… yesterday was seriously a nice day (the weather was terrible but that didn’t matter so much this time ^_^), I celebrated my birthday and it was great :).

Thanks everyone for the sweet b-day wishes, I appreciated a lot! Double ♥ back to you all!

Now… let´s talk about the cake… To be honest, I don’t always make my own birthday cake… The rule in this house is to bake a cake on Mother´s and Father´s day only. So, making my own cake was totally optional :D (was it Monday I was complaining to Luonnonvoima that I should have _purchased_ a ready one from the bakery? ehehe)

I decided to try a recipe from a book I got as present from dear hubs many years ago (on Mother´s day :P! Ehehehe. The book is entirely about cakes ^_^).

I made my own adaptations which made me think if it is worth writing everything down here. Let´s consider this cake as my food memo then! :)

Chocolate mousse cake

Suklaamoussekakku – Chocolate mousse cake

For the cake layers I baked a 4 egg chocolate sponge cake, about ∅24 cm, cut in half and filled with cherry jam. I moistened each layer with syrup made with red berries juice and sugar.

For the mousse: egg yolks, double cream, sugar and dark chocolate. The recipe calls for 250g of dark chocolate so I used my recently purchased Valrhona baking 61% dark chocolate. The whole bar? Yep, the whole bar! After all, it was my birthday right? ^_^

Melting the chocolate

I assembled the cake in a cake pan slightly bigger than the one I used to bake the layers, so the mousse would cover the sides of the cake neatly.

To decorate: cocoa dust, fresh strawberries, chocolate decorations and powdered sugar dust.

Uh Oh. Heavy thing. Delicious with coffee =). By the way, must mention the girls helped me to clean the bowls when assembling the “beast”. Dark chocolate is a hit here!

I wanted to add some liqueur to moist the cake and scent the mousse, but I was afraid my little ones wouldn’t enjoy it. Maybe I can make two cakes next time!?!

Needless to say, the fresh berries balanced well the flavors of the strong chocolate and cream. I didn’t have any available on Tuesday. We ran to the market on my birthday just to get some! :)

Chocolate mousse cake

A piece of cake, anyone?

22 Responses to “Chocolate mousse cake”

  1. Akemi Says:

    Lily-chan, otanjoubi omedetou!!!! Aqui em casa tbm, faço bolo pro maridon e olhe lá, o meu normalmente vou comprar ou simplesmente passa batido como foi mês passado! Como dizem, em casa de ferreiro, espeto é de pau! rsss
    Agora o bolo, vamos combinar, não tinha nenhuma chance mesmo de não ficar gostoso com um chocolate “ruim” como o valrhona mais berries! rsss
    Muita saúde e felicidades sempre, querida! ;)
    Bjss

    • karaimame Says:

      Arigatou Akemi-chan! Ahah, nem me fale. Larguei a pregui de lado para fazer o bolo… desde que comprei o chocolate fiquei pensando em qual receita o usaria, para “valer a pena” ;)…
      Mas nao me diga!! Foi seu aniversário e você nem avisa? Parabéns atrasadérrimo né!! Tudo de bom para ti também!!
      Ah… seu eu morasse perto eu encomendava meu bolo contigo :P..
      Beijooo

  2. sheri Says:

    Wow! I think that last slice is for me, right? Couldn’t be any more delicious-looking. Sadly I can only taste it in my imagination. You found gorgeous strawberries too! Better than ours in winter!

    • karaimame Says:

      ^_^ sure! I mean… I can cut a fresh slice for you…
      Ah… those strawberries… hubs spotted them at the market and I _needed_ to get them for the cake. Very bad weather to go out, but I bravely went with girls to get a small box! Ahaha! Gladly they tasted good too… summer strawberries are unbeatable. ;)
      Thanks Sheri!

  3. Laura Says:

    Eu quero!

    Fiz um empadão para vc!

    Vai lá ver!

    Acabou em minutos!

    Beijooooo

    • karaimame Says:

      ué.. se foi para mim como é que acabou já? :D
      aahahaha
      Vem comer bolo! Ainda tem bastante!!!!!
      Beijoooo

  4. natakiya Says:

    What an amazing cake! It looks so yummy, you did a great job :D (this is coming from someone who doesn’t like chocolate!!) Happy Birthday (I’m sorry it’s a little late though) !!!!

  5. Susan Yuen Says:

    First of all- Happy Birthday!!! I hope you had a fabulous birthday. :) Secondly, that cake looks heavenly! How I wish I could have a slice right now. :)

  6. Lisa Says:

    Para bens. Que bolo incrivel. Amo como voce fez o bolo tao lindo. E, como o bolo e chocolate, sei que eu comeria isso com prazer. Tou comecando um linky no meu blog este Sabado chamado “Sweets for a Saturday.” Gostaria de te convidar a visitar meu blog para “link up” esta receita.

    • karaimame Says:

      Oi Lisa, obrigada! Nossa, você fala português super bem!
      Vou lá visitá-la sim! Depois me conte como posso fazer o link up!

  7. ChantaleP Says:

    I thought this was bought at a bakery.. it looks so professional! and delicious.. Happy Birthday again.. I think this upcoming weekend is a great time to extend birthday celebrations right? hehe..

  8. Amy Says:

    This mousse cake looks delicious. I can almost taste the rich chocolate flavor here…

    I’m having the very first GIVEAWAY on my blog. Please stop by to submit an entry. Good Luck.
    http://utry.it/2011/01/happy-birthday-to-meand-very-first.html

  9. Lisa Says:

    Thanks so much for linking this up with Sweets for a Saturday. I truly appreciate your support. Hope to see you again next week. By then, I’ll have a cute button that you can grab and add to your post.

    • karaimame Says:

      Lisa, thanks a lot for the opportunity! It was fun and seeing all the other delicious entries was double great :).

  10. Marika Says:

    Oh…looks so delicious! As a chocolate lover I would have liked that cake A LOT :D Good to hear that yoy had a nice day :)

    • karaimame Says:

      Kiitos Marika! I forgot to reply your msg on mobile :/. But yep, it was a chocolatey cake for a happy day ^_^.

  11. tomatointribeca Says:

    wow! that looks exquisite….bravo!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

