Handmade finger puppets – Animal stories and a Finnish book

January 3, 2011

Finger puppets - Christmas gifts

Hello everyone!

New Year, new post! Yay!

I will start this year by sharing what I’ve crafted for the girls as their Christmas gifts ^_^. I think it was a bit mad project once I decided to make it at the last responsible moment. Yep, the idea was in my mind for long but I only started making it couple of days before Christmas (ahahaha, didn’t I tell you I am _that_ type of lazy person?)

Hubs and I bought a very nice Finnish Animals Stories book and … I wanted to make finger puppets from the main characters (the brown bear and the fox) to be given together with it. I also crafted some other characters, inspired by books we had already. Girls could use the tales they’ve heard previously in addition to the new ones (or invent their own ^_^)

Introducing my finger puppets, I made a short comic page from three stories. :)

…And how the bear lost its tail

Original title of the story “Karhun kalanpyynti” (The bear went fishing) – from the book “Suomen Lasten Eläinsadut” (Finnish Children´s Animal stories).

 

Waking up from its winter sleep, the bear came by a fox eating some fishes. The hungry bear asked:

- Oh wow, you have plenty of fish! I can eat some of yours if you don’t mind! Where did you get them?

The fox, annoyed by the fact the bear was big and afraid it would eat all the fishes quickly answered:

- I went fishing in the farmer´s ice hole (avanto in Finnish). I used my tail as fishing equipment and because the sky was so clear and full of stars, the fishes were enough hungry they just bit my beautiful tail fur and in the morning, I had fishes all over it!

The bear believed in the story (it still had a long tail) and headed to the ice hole on the frozen lake. He sat by the hole and put his tail in it, according to what the fox instructed.The sky was all clear and the cold weather, very severe.

After a while, the bear felt some pinching in its tail. The surface of the hole was getting all frozen but the bear was happy believing it was the fishes grabbing his tail.

In the morning, the deceiving fox went to sneak a look at the bear sitting on the lake. “Yes, he is stuck!” and rushed to the farmer´s house screaming “There´s a bear messing your ice hole, ohoi! A bear is messing your ice hole!”

Meanwhile, the bear was getting bored about sitting on the lake. He tried to move the tail but it was so numb it felt very heavy. “I must sit a bit more, my catch is indeed big!”

Suddenly some huge noise could be heard from the lake shore. The farmer and his family, carrying huge sticks started to beat the bear out from their avanto. The bear tried hard to pull itself free, so hard its tail snapped and remained in the frozen ice hole. The terrified bear ran to the forest but his tail stayed behind.

Since then, the bear doesn’t have tail at all ^_^.

Finger puppets - Christmas gifts

The bear tail is attached to the bear with magnets :).

Three wishes (Kolme toivomusta)

From the book “Iloiset eläinsadut” (original book “Richard Scarry´s Animal Nursery Tales”). The original story is also known as “The Sausage nose”

 

Once upon a time there was a very poor woodcutter. He lived with his wife in a very humble cottage in the woods.

One day while working, he whined how nice it would be if he could have anything he wanted, once he had nothing at all.

A fairy, listening to that, appeared to the man and granted him three wishes.

- I make three wishes come true! But use them wisely or you end up a fool!

Happily, the man hurried home to tell the news to his wife. They couldn’t think what they could wish first so they decided to have supper and think better later.

Seeing not much to eat on the table besides soup, the man sighed “Wish we could have a big fat sausage for dinner instead”. In a blink of an eye, the sausage appeared on their dinner table.

His wife got really angry: “You foolish man! Look now! Our first wish gone because of a stupid sausage!”

The man, annoyed by all the nagging shouted “Wish that sausage was stuck to your nose!”. And the sausage got stuck to his wife´s nose and they couldn´t get it off…

“We still have one wish to make… we need to think wise”.

“There´s no thinking here! I don´t want to live with the sausage on my nose forever!”

So the man wished the sausage to be gone from his wife´s nose.

The sausage was gone, so their three wishes.

Finger puppets - Christmas gifts

The sausage is removable with the help of magnets too.

The Gingerbread Man

Because it was Christmas and my girls like this tale a lot, I made characters for this story too.

 

I think most of you know how the tale goes, if not check here. However, this version in my comics is based from the short story included in “Iloiset eläinsadut” (original book “Richard Scarry´s Animal Nursery Tales”).

In the very end, when the gingerbread man is running away from the city people, he ends up by the riverbank, where a fox offers help as a ferry to cross the river. After tricking the gingerbread “not to get wet” by getting him nearer and nearer his mouth, the gingerbread man finds himself eaten mid-stream. ^_^

Finger puppets - Christmas gifts

The girls didn’t give much attention to my present during the Christmas gift sharing but in the same night, before going to bed, they played with the finger puppets and created their “own” stories. ^_^

*Happy mom*

Finger puppets - Christmas gifts

Have a great year my friends!

18 Responses to “Handmade finger puppets – Animal stories and a Finnish book”

  1. Sonoma Bento Says:

    Wow! These are so amazing! What a wonderful present for your girls and definitely good for lots of imaginative play time. Happy New Year!

  2. Sari Says:

    Happy new year.今年もよろしく☆
    Oh my.. It is so precious gift more than anything else. I love these small details like small fish, ginger cookie and pig’s blue apron etc… And also I like the stories, it is beautiful! Girls are so lucky to have wonderful mother.

  3. pinea Says:

    Miten suloisia sorminukkeja! And I loved the cartoon as well ;)
    Onnellista uutta vuotta sinulle ja perheellesi, Karaimame!

  4. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Michelle! Happy New Year to you too, wish you a wonderful 2011 ;).

  5. karaimame Says:

    Oh Sari, kiitos kovasti! ^_^ My younger daughter likes to create her own stories so I thought it would be a nice gift to them :)

  6. karaimame Says:

    Kiitos kauniista sanoista pinea ^_^. I had so much fun creating the puppets as well the cartoons :P.
    Bonne Année! ;)

  7. natakiya Says:

    Such incredibly cute puppets, you did a wonderful job on them!! You even put magnets in them?! I’m sure your girls will love playing with them for a long time :)

    Thank you for sharing the stories with us. And I loved the comics!

  8. sheri Says:

    You are my heroine; I want to create a fairy tale about you! Absolutely precious, the stories and the puppets and the cute cartoon versions! My kids want to play over there please!

  9. ChantaleP Says:

    I’m completely blown away by these!! You’re incredible! I love all the little details you put on the finger puppets, I *love* the cartoons.. the photography.. omg, I love it all. Wow. Your girls are so lucky to have a talented mama like you!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Yes, I put magnets inside the characters with “detachable” parts, just to add some fun ;).
    I am very happy you enjoyed the stories! Thank you Natakiya!

  11. karaimame Says:

    MM and TS are very welcome to play here! ^_^ I should craft some other animals to increase the playing possibilities ;).
    Aw Sheri, I am very glad to hear you find the gift so precious… Thank you so much for always being so sweet!

  12. karaimame Says:

    Chantale dear! You should have seen how the photographs for this post were made ^_^. Hilarious mother “playing” with finger puppets on the kitchen table (yea… the only place with nice light during the day :P). *worse than the kids* lol :D
    Thanks a lot for your kind comment!

  13. Heather Says:

    Your finger puppets are amazing!! They are so cute, and you are so clever to use the tiny magnets for the bear’s tail and the sausage. I love the comics you did. I know your girls will treasure the puppets as they grow!

  14. Heather Says:

    You have the luckiest girls in the world! The finger puppets are adorable!

  15. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Heather! I really enjoyed creating the puppets and the comics :). It paid the work ;)

  16. karaimame Says:

    =) Aw, thank you so much Heather! I shall tell them they are lucky right? :P *lol*

  17. Susan Says:

    Oh my gosh, those puppets are so cute!!! Happy New Year to you and your family! :)

  18. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Susan! Hope you will have a great 2011 and wish all the best to your lovely family ;).


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

