Udon-suki

November 22, 2010

When I started the blog I didn’t have a well-shaped idea of what it was supposed to be or look like. The tagline for the title pretty much explains how messy my blog is  ^_^.

So… when talking about food, I don’t necessary mean I am going to write and post the recipe for it. Some of the recipes I make use ingredients that are somehow “exotic” or difficult to find… or sometimes they are just food we eat without any further ado. :)

I decided to create a new category for the blog. It will be my “Food memorandum”. With that, I can keep track of what I am cooking (or eating!) and refer back to them when I run out of inspiration.

Shall we begin?

Udon-suki with white shimeji mushrooms

Udon-suki

I’d been thinking about shimeji mushrooms for long… I am a dedicated mushroom-lover ♡♥… eeeehehe and could do anything to get them for my recipes. Yes, total truth.

Couple of years ago, when the big supermarket nearby opened its doors I was amazed and happy to find out they carried shimeji mushrooms in their selection, along with the so called “normal” usual mushrooms (small shiitake and button mushrooms). To my disappointment they had it just for the opening event and soon after the mushrooms disappeared.

I am not sure where else I could find shimeji here but the other day I was reading one of my recent discovered blog and was glad to hear  a place downtown would possibly have it on its shelves (kiitos – ありがとうございます ^_^  Sari!). Took me a bit to have time to go there but I finally bought one box! Yay to me!

Having a box of “bunapi-shimeji” (white beech mushroom) I just needed to decide what to make with these little cute white shrooms ^_^. Soon after we were having a comforting Udon-suki to warm us up in a cold saturday night :).

About the Udon-suki. Basically it is a sukiyaki, a Japanese hot-pot where meat and vegetables are cooked in a shallow pot filled with sukiyaki broth, with highlight on the udon-noodle. I´ve made it like this because my girls just love udon and they could share the meal with all the family.

You see, nabe (hot pot) style food has a very special meaning to me. It was when we all sat together at table around the pot and shared the meal together. It is something I really appreciated and remember from my childhood. My wish is to pass ahead the same experience to my girls ^_^.

Mushroom-love ♥

20 Responses to “Udon-suki”

  1. sheri Says:

    Wow, so gorgeous!! Really love and happy you found your beloved mushrooms! I like the idea of menu reference. Very helpful on uninspired days :)

  2. Heather Says:

    That is a beautiful meal! I love the idea of a food memorandum, I’m looking forward to the next entry!

  3. mils Says:

    Looks wonderful and thoroughly delicious – I love family-styled meals as well, food is as much for taste as it is for the memories ^_^

  4. Sari Says:

    Hi! this udon-suki looks very nice! It just makes me hungry! I love to have warm udon dish in the winter time. I really the idea of memorial foods. I look forward to see your next entry!

  5. Lia Chen Says:

    Beautiful and delicious food post! Your blog now will make us hungrier than ever LOL :D Your food memorandum will inspire us for sure. Thanks for sharing it!


  6. Lovely post on food, family and the joy that comes with finding a special item that unlocks happy culinary memories…vivid, beautiful pictures!

  7. Sari Says:

    Hi! This udon suki looks awesome!! I like the idea of food memorandum. It is so beautiful that your wish to pass ahead the same experience to your child. I believe that is one of most important thing which parents can do for children…

  8. cyferredrose Says:

    hello from the Philippines =)
    I saw your bento on maki’s site. Its nice to see a wordpress neighbor =D Will be following your blog =)

  9. karaimame Says:

    =) Shrooms! Ah Sheri… I got guts to create the category after listening to you ;).
    Thanks!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Heather dear, thanks a lot! Now I have an excuse for my laziness of not writing down recipes :P.
    ^_^

  11. karaimame Says:

    Aw mils, thanks! It is so good to build up nice memories that includes food , isn’t it? (ahahahha, gosh, looks like I only think about food!)

  12. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Lia! I hope I can keep up with the speed :P.. Sometimes I get lazy to take a picture of the food, specially when I am hungry! ^_^

  13. karaimame Says:

    Jenn, thank you for always having beautiful words to write here! ^_^

  14. karaimame Says:

    Hello! Thanks a lot for the comment!


  15. Wow! So much goodies in the udon-suki. Looks so delicious!

  16. karaimame Says:

    Thank you! It was really good ^_^.

  17. karaimame Says:

    Kiitos Sari! Thanks for your lovely comment and your beautiful words! I hope my children will appreciate everything when they get older ;).

  18. karaimame Says:

    :) Thank you! Winter time is a good excuse for udon, I agree!

  19. Liza Tresser Says:

    Hello. I was wondering if you could give me a run down on how you made tis hot pot. It looks delicious.

    Thank you :)

  20. karaimame Says:

    Hi! The post about udon-suki was just a food memo, so sorry I didn’t write the recipe for it…
    But, the way I make is practically the same as making normal Sukiyaki pot, the difference is the addition of udon noodles, which are the “star” of the dish in this case. From the traditional Sukiyaki recipe, you could substitute shirataki noodles for the udon.
    I can recommend you a very nice recipe ( http://b2l.me/a879mb ). The blog belongs to a sweet friend and her recipes are very trustful.
    Hope you can make it! Let me know if you need any help :).


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

