Little giraffe bento

November 17, 2010

Little giraffe bento

Oh gosh… It has been more than a week since my last post. Yes, I am cooking and doing stuff but I am not taking pictures at all. I am having problems on making good photographs because of the winter darkness (we celebrated Father´s day in Finland last Sunday, I baked a cake and everything… but hey, sorry guys, no pictures ^_^)

Anyways… it is already middle November and I tend to get very busy (and desperate! ahaahha) in the end of the year. Craft projects, baking and cooking ideas… I hope I can cope with everything and share something in the blog.

Today I made a bento for the girls, mostly because Luonnonvoima was not eating much lately and I was a bit concerned about her behavior. When I showed the boxes to them they yelled “Kirahvi!!” (kirahvi is the Finnish word for giraffe) =).

To shorten the history, Luonnonvoima ate everything! I was so glad….

Little giraffe bento

Contents of the boxes: rice, furikake, steamed broccoli, cooked carrots, tamagoyaki (omelet) with spinach, braised tofu in tonkatsu sauce, MSG-free sausage, cherry tomato, clementine wedges, red grapes. Giraffe made with cheese, carrot and nori; her horns with dried somen noodle and cooked carrot cut with a straw.

Little giraffe bento

A tip about the spinach. I don´t know from where they’ve heard “spinach is a no no” but when they asked what was the green thing inside the omelet, instead of saying “it is spinach”, I said “it is a nice leaf”. They replied “just like basil?”… I said “yep” and they ate everything nicely. Uh… kids are so tricky! :D

22 Responses to “Little giraffe bento”

  1. sheri Says:

    Just a leaf. Mom is the tricky one! Such a nice giraffe, and creative somen carrot horns! Glad they have their appetite for cute charaben. Not looking forward to winter darkness either. Happy to see your crafts, well-lit or not! Doesn’t matter; still lovely :)

  2. Heather Says:

    Lol, I like “it is a nice leaf”, great trick! I love seeing your bentos, they are so fresh and cute. Good luck with all of your crafting, baking, cooking, …. I’m excited to see your creations! :)


  3. So sweet! Really artistic cuteness here to counter the dark days, you sure brightened mine with these happy bentos!

  4. karaimame Says:

    :D ehehe! If they listen “spinach” they automatically refuse it … so, I needed to figure out how to take away the “attention” from it :P.
    Ah… don´t tell me about winter darkness… I was considering putting the blog to hibernation till spring XD.
    Thank you Sheri, for your words, kindness and huge support! :*

  5. karaimame Says:

    I just keep laughing about myself… hope someday my girls wont rebel against me! ^_^ Silly mommy…
    Thank you Heather for your sweet comment! I’ll try hard to keep the blog updated ^_^.

  6. karaimame Says:

    Aaw Jenn! Makes me happy I could brighten your day ;), I should thank you for your lovely feedback! ^_^

  7. Akemi Says:

    Já estava com saudades dos seus bentôs! Estas girafas ficaram muito kawaiii!!! Imagino que o inverno por aí seja rigorosíssimo! Não gosto de frio extremo mas prefiro o inverno ao verão. As comidas são mais ricas e substanciosas e um aquecedor e roupas quentinhas resolvem o frio. Agora calor, menina, aqui em Maringá ano passado sofri demais, não conseguia dormir, a cama pegava fogo! Só de pensar no verão que se aproxima, já fico preocupada! Estou pensando seriamente em instalar um ar condicionado viu! rss

    Bjss

  8. kelly Says:

    aww cutest giraffe ever! and great tip!

  9. Lia Chen Says:

    Got another new Finnish word for giraffe hehehe … This giraffe is super cute! Too bad he meant to be eaten. Almost end of the year and glad that not only me that get busy. Hope you can manage everything and don’t go ‘crazy’ LOL :D Sometimes kids always associated green veggies with something yucky, I don’t know why. My kids used to be like that but now they are getting better to eat their veggies. Your trick worked nicely for your kids, awesome (^.^)

  10. karaimame Says:

    Akemi-chan, obrigada! Sabe.. eu gosto mais de inverno mesmo, neve , frio… por mais rigoroso seja. A única coisa que dispensaria seria a escuridao que ele traz… aí eu fico mal mesmo, bom se fosse uma vampirinha! :D
    Verao é complicado… se continuar quente aí em Maringá, melhor mesmo comprar o ar condicionado… ninguém aguenta trabalhar no calorao!!
    Beijo grande e se cuide viu?
    ^_^

  11. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Kelly! ^_^ my tip idea is, not lie but just explain differently XD

  12. karaimame Says:

    Learning finnish with me ^_^! The most useful words ever =).
    Ah… I hope you will manage the end of the year too. You have the weddings and everything else to be busy with… uh oh, I would be totally mad.
    Nice the kids are bigger and getting to eat veggies. I am so looking for that in the future! Until there I am this sneaky-mother :P
    Thank you for your lovely comment Lia!


  13. That is such a great answer – nice leaf! Love the giraffes! They look so happy!

  14. karaimame Says:

    ^_^ Thank you !

  15. Susan Yuen Says:

    Oh my gosh this is so cute!!! I love the giraffes, they are amazing!

  16. karaimame Says:

    Thank you Susan! ^_^

  17. Marika Says:

    Oi…kirahvi is so cute :) I’m a little bit jealous to my lovely nieces who get so amazing food to eat ;) And I’m happy to hear that they ate well :)

  18. karaimame Says:

    Kiitos Marika! =) Ah.. don´t be jealous ;), we wish we could have your amazing pastries to eat ^_^.

  19. Riechan Says:

    Really cute one! I love the way you tricked your kids. Have to remember that for later ;)
    It’s been some time since I made myself a bento … Perhaps I’ll make myself one for tomorrow ^^

  20. karaimame Says:

    ^_^ Thanks Riechan! I am not a big fan of “hiding” veggies in food but I believe if we present them in a nice way , my girls would get interested about eating too. :)
    Oh, please make a bento! It is always nice to make one ;).

  21. Emi Says:

    Thanks for the wonderful ideas. I am looking forward to trying your ideas on my little girls’ bentos.

  22. karaimame Says:

    Hi Emi! Welcome to my blog and thanks for your sweet comment! I am very happy to know I inspired you with ideas ^^!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

