Mini chocolate madeleines

November 6, 2010

Mini chocolate madeleines

The other day I was reading one of my cooking magazines and there was a recipe of mini madeleines. Oh, those madeleines.. little cute baked cakes made with special pans.. I used to skip those recipes, simply because I didn’t have the shell shaped pan, knowing that it would be terribly difficult to find them here where I live.

Although I found normal sized madeleine pans I wanted mini. They are cuter, they fit better in my mouth (ahaha). I got obsessed about them.. I visited every single baking supply shop on my search for the mini pan. Took me days (and nights browsing the web too) until I finally found it. I felt very happy ^_^.

Instead of using the recipe I saw in that magazine I decided for another one this time. Chocolate madeleines, a perfect match for my coffee :P.

Mini chocolate madeleines

recipe from here , what I used and Finnish ingredients in parentheses

yield about 60 mini madeleines. I got 40 shell shaped and 16 heart shaped mini muffins.

  • 15 g dark chocolate, melted (I used Lindt 70%, about 4 pieces from the bar)
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 70 g cake flour (I used erikoisvehnäjauho)
  • 15 g cocoa (I used Van Houten)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 70 g unsalted butter, melted (plus a little more for brushing the pans)
  • 80 g sugar

Heat oven to 170°C

Prepare the pan, brushing with a little melted butter.

Sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder and sugar into a bowl and whisk to combine.

In another bowl, slightly beat the eggs. Pour into the flour mixture and whisk gently. Add the melted chocolate and finally the melted butter.

Mix until just combine.

Pour the batter into a piping bag fitted with a small round nozzle (you can use small spoons but I found it easier to pour the batter into the molds with the bag).

Fill the pan with batter and bake for 10-12 mins, until the madeleines are golden and baked all the way through (if in doubt, make the skewer test).

Remove from the oven and leave to cool for 2 mins. Tip out of the pan and bake another batch, if you need to.

Mini chocolate madeleines

My notes about the recipe:

I was very happy with the result! I am thinking about adding espresso powder to make mocha madeleines or a tiny pieces of candied orange peel for a “quick” filling next time.

The girls liked them a lot even with the strong chocolate taste. They kept popping them in their little mouths ^_^. Very easy to eat… they disappeared fast :).

21 Responses to “Mini chocolate madeleines”

  1. sheri Says:

    Wowee! Now you know I want to buy the mini madeleine pan and make them!! SO gorgeous… Sigh…

  2. mils Says:

    omg – how adorable!! Your photography is gorgeous – I want to get madeline pans as well now …

  3. Heather Says:

    Yup! Totally jealous of these!! :) They look fantastic, and your photography is amazing. Love the little basket!

  4. karaimame Says:

    :) I kept thinking about those pans you showed me in twitter when I was making these madeleines ^_^.
    Thank you Sheri for your sweet comment and always lovely support!

  5. karaimame Says:

    Ehe! I hope you can find the pan easily there than here.. ^_^
    oh.. and thanks about the photography mention.. I was almost giving up posting about this because of lousy pictures O_O.

  6. karaimame Says:

    Aw, you liked the little basket ^_^, wish I could send one to you :).
    Thank you Heather for your adorable comment!

  7. Akemi Says:

    Eu tbm quando cismo com alguma coisa, não sossego enquanto não encontro! rsss
    Suas mini madeleines ficaram muito fofas e nem duvido que tenham ficado deliciosas com o chocolate que usou! A receita por mais simples que seja, se utilizar ingredientes de qualidade fica oooooutra cousa!
    Bjss e um lindo final de semana! :)

  8. kelly Says:

    haha glad you found it. I have been in that same situation with another pan. You think you’ll pay big bucks if you could JUST find it!! Of course now you’ll probably see them everywhere hah.

    These look so cute and yummy! Great photography too!

  9. Marika Says:

    What a “herkku” :D Oh… Looks sooooo good :)

  10. karaimame Says:

    Ah, entao você é assim também! O pior é que fico resmungando sobre o assunto até que ele se encerre e o coitado do marido fica de saco cheio! Ahaahah
    Obrigada pelo comentário! As meninas acabaram com as madeleines em um segundo!! Vixe, logo vou ter que assar outra fornada de novo ^_^.
    Beijoooo! Bom final de semana para ti também!

  11. karaimame Says:

    ^_^ isn´t weird that things go just like that? Grrrrr! ;)
    Thank you Kelly for you comment!

  12. karaimame Says:

    Marika, kiitos!! ^_^ Maybe I should bake them for Christmas to everyone :D.
    Ah! Tervetuloa blogiini ;)

  13. Lia Chen Says:

    I missed this post on the weekend. OMG, this is so perfect! When can I bake like you? *sigh* Mini size is just right, make you want to pop them in your mouth over and over again :D

  14. karaimame Says:

    Hi Lia! I agree with you.. they are so small it is impossible to eat only one.. two, three.. ehehe, they go amazingly fast! But hey, the secret of this recipe relies on the madeleine pan ^_^, I am sure you can make it too :)
    Thanks for the sweet comment! Have a lovely week!

  15. anabela pereira Says:

    Vou fazer, que lindo aspecto ;-)

  16. karaimame Says:

    Obrigada Anabela! Depois me conte se ficou bom ^_^!


  17. Lovely and adorable mini madeleines! So often the quest for a tool or resource for creative projects is worth it, as here :D Mini basket is a perfect touch…oh, and these cookies made with a mocha flavor element would be just incredible!

  18. karaimame Says:

    Gladly it was rewarding this time ^_^ … sometimes I get very disappointed :(.
    Thank you Jenn for the sweet comment! When I make the mocha one I will post about it =).

  19. Susan Yuen Says:

    Oh my those look so delicious!!! Beautiful!

  20. karaimame Says:

    Thanks Susan! Glad to see you “around” again ^_^

  21. Marika Says:

    Oh…it would be awesome to taste them at Christmas :)

    Your blog is wonderful! You can be sure that I visit here often :)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

