Cheddar and herbs muffins

November 4, 2010

Herbs and cheddar muffins

I like muffins. They taste good, can be sweet or savory and they are easy to make. Most of the recipes don’t even require a mixer, an advantage for a small kitchen like mine (yes, I do have one but if I want to use it, I need to clean up the table and move the mixer from the counter).

I had some leftovers of cheese, herbs and deli chicken… oh, and buttermilk in the fridge. Scones? But I wanted something softer… Savory muffins… how about them?

=). I baked muffins for tea time and the extras we ate for breakfast the next day. Just gently reheated. Pikkusiili liked them a lot (well, she is a cheese lover anyways ^_^).

The recipe I use is quite versatile. You can change the ingredients, according to what you have at home. Here follows the way I did this time.

Cheddar and herbs muffins

Yield 20 paper cup muffins

  • 2 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 cup grated extra-mature cheddar cheese (I used some Old Gouda leftover too, completing the amount with cheddar)
  • 1/4 cup of grated mozzarella (optional)
  • 1/2 cup diced roasted chicken (you can use ham instead)
  • 1 cup scallions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup basil, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp salt (use less if your cheese is too salty)
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp english mustard powder

Heat the oven to 200°C. I didn’t need to prepare my muffin cups because they had a coated surface. If you are using a normal muffin pan, line them or gently grease with oil.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, pepper, paprika and mustard.

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, buttermilk, oil and butter. Stir in the scallion, basil, cheeses and chicken.

Pour the wet ingredients to the dry and carefully mix until just moistened (it will be lumpy). Pour about 2 tbsp of dough into the prepared muffin cups. If using a 12 muffin pan, you will probably need to make two batches.

Bake the muffins for about 20 minutes (or until they get browned on top, test with a skewer) and transfer the muffins to a cooling rack.

Serve warm.

My notes about the recipe:

These muffins keep well in freezer for about one month but they don’t usually last that longer here :P.

I am a super fan of cheese and these muffins are one of my favorite way to get a rid of cheese leftovers when we have them. You can go vegetarian and omit the meat from the recipe. Adding some other herbs would be interesting too.

8 Responses to “Cheddar and herbs muffins”

  1. sheri Says:

    Nice idea to use up lots of goodies in a handy muffin! I like aged cheddar too. Perfect for bento!

  2. karaimame Says:

    Oh yes, forgot to mention about bento! Very good indeed ^_^, “handy” food packed with.. leftovers :P
    Thanks Sheri!

  3. mtlfolioblog Says:

    Ooh yeah, I’m a cheese lover myself but am also lactose intolerant so, have to keep it at a minimum at times. These would be PERFECT for mid afternoon tea breaks and snacks!

  4. Lia Chen Says:

    Savory muffins, I would love those with my tea. That will be perfect! You are so amazing in baking. Really admire your skills. Can you bake more and I will make tea to join hehehe … :D

  5. karaimame Says:

    Oh.. I didn´t know you are lactose intolerant.. I also drink milk without lactose, makes me feel much better. I am glad we have so many produce in Finland without lactose, I think finnish technology on that is very advanced.
    Cheese in general doesn’t carry lactose that much but it is good not to eat too much ^_^
    Thanks for your comment Chantale!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Oh Lia, thanks.. It would be lovely to have your companion on tea time! ^_^ Shall we invite the other girls too ;)?


  7. Yum!! this recipe really has my number–I love savory, cheesy crisp little bites! Beautiful photo, too :D

  8. karaimame Says:

    I like savory more too =) ! Yep.. much more than sweet (excluding dark chocolate..). Just can´t figure out why do I post more about sugary stuff.. O_O
    :D
    Thanks a lot for your adorable comment!
    ^_^


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

