M´s Cheesecake

October 25, 2010

M´s Cheesecake

Some years ago I tried this cheesecake in a potluck lunch with friends. It was just delicious and the idea of that cheesecake stayed in my mind.

The lady who baked it and I became very good friends. I value her friendship a lot and we try to keep in touch whenever it is possible (she is not living in Finland at this moment).

Anyways.. I was thinking about making some sort of cake to celebrate my wedding anniversary and I wanted to try something different  this time. Talking this and that with my friend “M” , suddenly her cheesecake came to my mind and I had (HAD) to ask her for the recipe ^_^.

And lovely as she is, she promptly sent it to me! =)

“M” suggested to serve the cheesecake with bilberry/blueberry jam. Unfortunately we didn’t have it at home and I was too lazy to make some with my frozen blueberries. I served with the jams we had in the fridge. Each from the family could choose what jam they wanted on top.

Ja “M”, kiitos  reseptista! Arigatou! Olet tosi suloinen!

M´s Cheesecake

M´s Cheesecake

Yield a 18 cm cheesecake (about 12 small slices)

  • 6 – 8 Digestive biscuits, finely crumbled (I used 8, about 120 g total). Digestive cookies are similar to graham crackers.
  • 40 g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • about 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 pack Philadelphia cream cheese (200 g, full fat)
  • 2 dl (200 ml) cream
  • 70 g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice (I used the lemon zest too, even if not mentioned in the original recipe)

Heat oven to 180 °C

If you didn’t brake your biscuits yet, put them inside a strong freezer bag and smash using a rolling pin (or use your hands, a meat hammer.. think about something that bothers you and release the anger on those biscuits! ^_^)

Mix the crumbs, butter and milk. Press onto bottom of 18 cm springform pan, line based with greaseproof paper.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar until well blended. Add eggs and the rest of the ingredients. Pour over crust.

Bake for about 40 min until slightly golden or center is set.

Refrigerate after it cools from the oven. I left it inside the pan for the night in the fridge.

To serve, remove the rim of the pan by running a knife around the rim (I used a wooden knife because I didn’t want to damage my pan). Remove the rim carefully and “slide” the cake to the serving plate.

Slice and top with fresh fruits or jam and serve.

My notes about the recipe:

The cheesecake was very good and very easy to make (like “M” said!), perhaps too big for our small family. I will try to half the recipe next time and see how it comes out.

I prefer a more “tangy” taste for a cheesecake and would add more lemon juice ( update: reading about the subject I figured out to use sour cream instead. Should definitely bake another to compare! :P). Anyways, I fixed it by eating my slice with a big dollop of my homemade apple-lemon jam (and cherry jam the next day). ^_^

My girls got disappointed they couldn’t decorate a “normal” cake for the wedding anniversary so I allowed them to use some sprinkles…

Heh (♡:lla to Mr mies!)

M´s Cheesecake

10 Responses to “M´s Cheesecake”

  1. ChantaleP Says:

    I’m not a cake lover but have a soft spot for cheesecake! These are so perfectly made and I love the last pic with little hearts.. You have a lovely friendship there.. hold onto it and keep nurturing it. Friendships are so important. Hope you had a lovely wonderful anniversary!!

  2. mils Says:

    That looks divine – bacon’s a huge fan of cheesecake and I will try your recipe out on him soon – if he’s lucky it might even be a suprise! Love the heart shaped sprinkles :)

  3. sheri Says:

    Looks SO good! I really love cheesy desserts but never made a cheesecake myself. The heart sprinkles are a sweet touch. Congrats to all of you!

  4. Akemi Says:

    Agora me senti a mais esfomeada das criaturas já que vc disse que uma receita foi grande para sua família! XD Eu e o Luiz detonaríamos a forma! rsss
    Parabéns pelas bodas! Muitas felicidades e saúde forever para o casal!
    Bjsss

  5. karaimame Says:

    :),thank you Chantale! I love cheesecake too.. I´ve been searching for the perfect recipe for long.. I like to eat it with cloudberry jam! :P very exotic.
    Yes, I agree with you about how important are friendships. ^_^
    To end, thanks for the anniversary nice wishes!

  6. karaimame Says:

    Hey mils! Hope you can try it soon! The cake was a bit too big for us but maybe Bacon can gobble it all? ^_^ I suggest to change the cream for sour cream if he likes tangy cheesecakes too :P
    Thank you for your lovely comment!

  7. karaimame Says:

    Oh Sheri, thanks so much for everything! This cheesecake was rather easy to make, maybe you should try it too ;).
    And the heart sprinkles.. those little ladies could add those anywhere! ^_^ (and pop them to mouth “to try”) haha, kids..

  8. karaimame Says:

    :) que esfomeada que nada! Eu tenho este leve probleminha aqui que as meninas nao comem muito .. entao fica para mim e para o maridao. Se eu estiver de regime, fica só para o marido.. aí já viu , coitado ^_^.
    Obrigada pelas felicitaçoes! Um beijo grande para ti também e obrigada pelo recadinho!

  9. maiju Says:

    Moi moi!
    Wow, you made a very lovely cheesecake!! I am sure that your friend is very happy for this.
    That pink-heart decorations are so sweet and I say again you are amazing!!!!
    If you were in Japan, you could easily open the Bento/cooking class for housewives.

    Omedetou for your anniversary!

  10. karaimame Says:

    Moi Maiju-chan!
    Thanks for your lovely comment! ^_^ I really hope my friend got happy with this post!! =)
    Voi että… kiitos kauniista sanoista.. hontou ni arigatou gozaimasu.. ! ♥ I am so clumsy to teach anything to anyone! XD totally “pelle”
    Thank you again for your wishes! Mata ne!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

