Chocolate & banana cake

September 21, 2010

Chocolate & banana cake

Continuing my baking saga, this time I had to figure out a way to use some bananas that were turning black. I don’t like fruits going to waste specially when they are very expensive where I live.

I’ve learned from vegan cooking ( no, no! I am not vegan! But I like to go vegetarian sometimes ^_^ ) you can substitute one egg in baking for a half mashed banana… not an option to me, since I had two super ripe ones  :P.

The recipe I used calls for exactly two bananas. A match ;).

Chocolate & banana cake

Yield 2 loaf tins ( 450 g capacity ). I used an 1,0 l tin and the cake became a bit “flat” but still very good! :D

From Olive mag, June 2005. What I adapted in parentheses.

  • 100 g plain chocolate ( plus extra crumbs or morsels )
  • 150 g unsalted butter , softened
  • 175 g golden caster sugar ( I used 100 g caster sugar and 50 g demerara sugar )
  • 3 eggs , beaten
  • 175 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 25 g cocoa
  • 2 large bananas, mashed

Heat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a loaf tin with parchment paper.  Melt the chocolate and leave it to cool.

Cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs gradually, beating nicely between each addition. Sift together the flour, baking powder and cocoa and fold in using a spatula. Add the mashed banana and chocolate and mix well (at this point I added the extra chocolate crumbs. Chopped nuts work too)

Pour the mixture into the prepared tin. Bake for about 45 minutes (  or check with a skewer, if it comes out clean when inserted in the middle, cake is done ). Let cool on a rack and wrap in parchment paper .

My notes about the recipe:

The cake was very tasty one day after baking it. Although a bit crumbly the flavors intensified.  A good pairing for green tea =).

Chocolate & banana cake

14 Responses to “Chocolate & banana cake”

  1. Lia Chen Says:

    Will be nice to have your choco banana cake for the afternoon tea. My mom used to bake a lot when I was a kid. Always love the smells from the oven :)

    • karaimame Says:

      Lia , thanks for sharing your childhood memories :). I remember my mother baking too.. she had that habit of repeating the same recipe till she gets it perfect XD.
      It would be so nice to share the cake with you! Family here is so small , portions tend to get too big for us to cope with ^_^

  2. mils Says:

    oh-ishii indeed! Looks marvellous…will be testing out your recipe…I love banana bread..

    • karaimame Says:

      =) bananas are usually eaten before they reach the bread stage here. These were “lucky” ones ^_^
      Thanks Mils for your nice words!

  3. Flavia Says:

    Hum looks delicious. I’m wondering now I have a recipe of plain banana cake, and I added walnuts and raisins the cake became much more tasty… Maybe it will work also in your recipe, what do you think?

    • karaimame Says:

      Hello Flavia! ( bem vinda ^_^ ) You idea is fantastic! I think it is fine to add nuts to the recipe, but adding raisins may require an adjustment of the sugar amount ( or the type of chocolate used ) and the baking time .
      Now I got interested about your plain banana cake :), does it use dark sugar? Might be *yums* :9
      Thanks a lot for your visit and welcome back again any time ^_^

      • Flavia Says:

        Hi,

        I use the one that I have at home. So, sometimes I do it with the “normal” beet sugar, sometimes with dark sugar cane. Originally it is a Brazilian recipe. But, I must to say, since I move to the Netherlands I always use half of the amount o sugar in all my Brazilian cake recipe… If you want I can give it to you, but is in Portuguese, is it ok?

      • karaimame Says:

        Oh, it happened to you too? So weird I needed to reduce the amount of sugar in almost all of my Brazilian recipes… they tasted so sweet..
        I would be very glad to have your banana cake recipe, it doesn’t matter if it is in Portuguese :). I’ll DM you in twitter ok?

  4. Akemi Says:

    Amei sua dica vegana de substituir ovos por bananas!!! Já me aconteceu algumas vezes de querer comer um bolinho mas na hora H cadê ovo???? Chocolate com banana é uma dessas combinações mais do que perfeitas!! Bjsss

    • karaimame Says:

      Oie Akemi-chan!! Pois é.. às vezes sou meio natureba e vou procurando essas substituiçoes doidas. Depende do tamanho da banana também viu? Geralmente meia ou 1/4 da banana substitui o ovo , principalmente em receitas do tipo muffin ou bolo rápido. Outra substituiçao vegana é semente de linhaça misturada com água.. fica bem gosmenta ;)
      Beijooo, obrigada pela visita!!

  5. sheri Says:

    Yes, I’ll have a slice with green tea… right about NOW, please????

    I love the crackly top too :)

    • karaimame Says:

      :) It felt somehow the crackly top made the cake a bit ugly ^_^! I am glad you liked (and it didn’t bother the taste at all).
      Thanks Sheri for you lovely comment!


  6. Yum! Delish indeed. Love the Finnish mug–I gave it to my hubby and office pal last Christmas, so folklorishly mystical and sweet!

    • karaimame Says:

      I really like the Finnish mugs too ;), are they easy to find there where you live?
      Thank you Jenn for your lovely comment!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

