Cornbread muffins

September 20, 2010

Cornbread muffins

I have a weakness for any food that contains corn. I don’t know from where it comes (maybe from living in South America?) but I really enjoy to eat anything made with this golden yellow grain.

Fresh corn is not that common here in Finland neither cornmeal. Cornmeal belong to the category of “special” flours, found in supermarkets standing on shelves nearby its fellow gluten-free flours.

To use the rest of a buttermilk carton I had in fridge, I baked these cornbread muffins. They are very moist and are a good option for an afternoon snack or to be put in a bento box for the next day.

Cornbread muffins

Yields 12

From Good Food mag, Aug 2010. What I adapted in parentheses.

  • 85 g melted butter ( and a little bit for frying )
  • 1 large sweetcorn , kernels sliced off (I used half can of corn kernels )
  • 1 small onion , finely chopped
  • ½ red chilli , deseeded, finely chopped (I omitted it and added 1/2 tsp paprika )
  • 140 g plain flour
  • 140 g cornmeal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 50g strong cheddar , grated ( I increased to 80 g )
  • 2 eggs
  • 284ml pot buttermilk ( I used 300 ml and 84 ml milk instead )
  • 100ml milk

Heat oven to 180°C and prepare a 12 hole muffin tray ( I used paper muffin cups ). Heat a knob of butter in a frying pan and gently fry the corn kernels with the onion, until golden and the onion soft. Reserve.

Mix together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder and cheddar with 1/4 tsp salt (adjust according to the cheese ) in a large mixing bowl. Whisk together the eggs, buttermilk and milk, then stir into the dry ingredients with the remaining melted butter and corn mixture. Divide between the muffin cups and bake for 25-30 mins, until golden brown and cooked through (check with a skewer).

Serve it warm.

My notes about the recipe:

I found it difficult to release the muffins from my paper cups and I suggest to grease the muffin pan and use it without a lining. Another option would be baking them straight into silicone cups ^_^.

9 Responses to “Cornbread muffins”

  1. Akemi Says:

    Se é herança brasileira não sei, mas tbm amooooo tudo com milho!!! Será que alguém ainda duvida??? rsss
    Adorei sua sugestão, perfeita para aqueles domingos em que a gente quer dar uma caprichada no café da manhã!
    Seus bentôs estão muito kawaiiiii!!! Omedetou!!! É comum as crianças daí levarem bentô? 6 anos atrás quando voltei ao Brasil para passear minha sobrinha queria que queria um bentobaku. Trouxe e ela, feliz da vida, levou já no dia seguinte para escola arroz e umas misturinhas. Tadinha, disse que todo mundo ficou olhando e tirando sarro, nunca mais levou! Uma pena, sem dúvida muito mais saudável do que as coxinhas e cachorros-quentes com que as crianças daqui se empaturram nos intervalos….

  2. sheri Says:

    Beautiful with the whole kernels! Looks SO delish. I love baked corn goods too :)

  3. Lia Chen Says:

    Wonderful baking! Can tell from the picture, must be very delicious :)

  4. karaimame Says:

    Akemi-chan!! Só pode ser mesmo herança brasileira!! Adoro suas receitas com milho.. os bolinhos com fubá!! aiaiai ..
    Arigatou sobre os bentôs :). Nao, nao é comum a crianças levarem lanche para a escola.. até o segundo grau as escolas oferecem lanche e almoço… mas eu faço mesmo assim, minhas meninas gostam.
    Tadinha da sua sobrinha… mas eu entendo.. nao faz parte da nossa cultura esse tipo de refeiçao (quem sabe muda algum dia?). Mas dá para fazer uns bentôs fofinhos para os piqueniques em família ^_^.
    Beijooo, obrigada pela visita!!

  5. karaimame Says:

    Sheri and Lia, thank you very much for your sweet comments!! Pikkusiili (the 3 yo ;) ) adores everything with cheese and corn, I need to indulge her sometimes!
    ^_^

  6. mils Says:

    I love corn bread! Yep, it’s pretty hard to source here in the UK too :( . I’ve been meaning to make some, and when I DO actually find the mix, will come back to your recipe!

  7. karaimame Says:

    Hey Mils! I hope you can find the ingredients! I wished I had the fresh corn too, but that is very rare to get here..
    Thanks for your lovely comment!

  8. Katie Says:

    I love corn bread and I am lucky to live in a largely hispanic city in the southern part of the united states. Also corn bread is a staple in the south in general it seems but I’ve learned a great secret to make even sweeter and more moist corn bread. Get a can of creamed corn and use it instead of the can of regular corn. It makes the corn bread super moist and much tastier.

  9. karaimame Says:

    Might be a bit difficult to find creamed corn here, but if I happen to find a can, I will try it. Thanks a lot for your tip! ^_^


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

