Apple pie

September 5, 2010

Apple pie

I like to bake. I like to do many things. Sometimes I just don’t have time. And.. sometimes I just don’t have patience ;)

That wasn’t the case on last friday. I baked an Apple pie to be served with a big ball of vanilla ice-cream. We had special guests and I wanted to offer a dessert.

To be honest, I cheated a bit. I used a jar of my homemade apple preserve for the filling to hurry up things. My homemade preserve was made from apples I’ve got last year from my husband’s aunt (she has lots of apple trees on her garden! Lucky lady. )  A simple preserve: apples, lemon juice, sugar and a vanilla pod.

I only needed to make the crust. Butter, flour, bread flour and water. You can’t go wrong when you add butter! :D

Apple pie

Pastry adapted from here, the Finnish ingredients I used in parentheses.

Yield a  ∅ 27 cm pie. Serves 8.

Pastry

  • 150 g cold unsalted butter chopped
  • 140 g  flour ( erikoisvehnäjauhoa: special wheat flour )
  • 50 g bread flour ( hiivaleipäjauhoa: dark wheat flour)
  • 5-6 tablespoons iced water (more or less depending on the dough consistency )

Filling

For the filling, about 250 g of apple preserve (my jar was 500 ml capacity)

In a bowl, rub together the butter and the flours with your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Slowly add the cold water to the breadcrumb mixture a little at a time, mixing well, until the dough forms. You don’t need to knead it much and it is perfectly fine if you can still see dots of butter here and there. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for 30 min – 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 175 °C.

Roll out about half of the dough in between two sheets of parchment paper (or on  floured surface) until 2-3 mm thick. Using your pie dish as a guide, cut a circle of the dough and line the dish. Pour the apple filling in.

Make strips from the remaining dough and arrange them in criss-cross pattern over the filling. Crimp the edges to “seal”, otherwise the strips can shrink during baking.

(You can brush the surface with egg wash but I didn’t.)

Bake for 25-30 min or until golden.

Best served warm with vanilla ice-cream or whipped cream.

Apples from Kangasala





6 Responses to “Apple pie”

  1. sheri Says:

    Looks totally delicious! I bet it disappeared mighty quick. Love to see your baking creations; as it nearly causes me to want to try to make a pie myself…

    • karaimame Says:

      Thank you Sheri! Yes, the pie ended fast .. hubz ate three pieces in a row XD.
      Baking is so nice but most of the stuff I make are not so “photogenic” :D eh
      And.. if you make a pie, I will want a piece! ^_^

  2. Laura Says:

    Ebaaaa! Vou copiar a receita, eeeeeee!!!!

  3. pinea Says:

    Oh the apples look so adorable… Small but juicy Finnish apples. And your pie looks so delicious, it’s a good idea to use hiivaleipäjauhoa with the erikoisvehnäjauhot!

    • karaimame Says:

      Hei Pinea!
      You should have seen the amount of apples I got last year!! Made me so so happy!
      (and gave me a huge work too *lol*)
      Thank you for your sweet comment! The pie was good but the ice cream on top was too sweet :/.. I thought about using Grahamjauho but I ended up mixing hiivaleipäjauho. Toimii!! ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

